Mobile Hotspot

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by RoNYC, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. RoNYC

    RoNYC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed that verizon is giving this option for free when purchasing a palm. My question is can we do this to the droid?
     
  2. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    not "officially" but its possible
     
  3. RoNYC

    RoNYC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was hoping it could be done "officially", thanks for the quick responce!
     
  4. rjcapp

    rjcapp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +4
    All I can say is WOW ! I am very impressed with the connection of my dell inspiron 1420 , windows vista, laptop to my TB MHS !!! Everything connected right up once the default security key was typed in... Better yet I am visiting the small town of Archbald PA and surfing... The forum page loaded quick, faster than my outdated desktop at the house using comcast...

    This is awesome...

    It is probably worth the extra 20.00 a month....

    I downloaded spell check and it downloaded from cnet at 98kbps.....
    It says I have a 54Mbps connection in the task manager....
     
  5. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am really impressed to. I am typing this message using on 3G since the town I am currently in doesn't have 4G yet, and it is still pretty quick.

    The task manager speed is of course your WiFi speed to the phone. You can test your internet connection speed at Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test

    Alan
     
  6. sik

    sik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use it on my zoom and is can't believe how fast it is on 3g
     
  7. WTF??

    WTF?? Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unrooted...


    So hows this Mobile Hotspot app work? We have to activate it with Verizon first right?
    I've never gone through it before so some insight would be appreciated.

    Any pros/cons?
     
  8. torch327

    torch327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want the legit hotspot then yes you have to pay for it.if you took advantage of the double data you can change between them even after they quit offering them.so far I haven't had any problems stating connected.I'm A pretty heavy gamer and haven't had my Xbox360.disconnect from it yet.I pay $70 a month for the 12g plan with mobile hotspot.


    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
     
  9. HowardZ

    HowardZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +3
  10. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
  11. HowardZ

    HowardZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +3
    On rooted stock GB with android-wifi-teather
    Settings: Device Profile auto
    SSID: set to your choice
    Leave encryption OFF
    check "routine fix" (not sure it is necessary)

    And wifi teather works.

    Howard
     
  12. uconn_jack

    uconn_jack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was under the impression that Verizon blocks the use of Mobile Hotpot unless you pay for the service (i.e., the browser of the tethered computer will only open the Verizon page asking to add the servie.)

    This is what happened when I first got the phone 6 mths ago when I was tinkering, but I just tried it again for ha-ha's, and it allows me to browse without restriction (I have since rooted and installed Liberty ROM).

    Has Verizon dropped this restriction? I didn't think rooting made a difference since it was a radio thing that could only be bypassed with the radio hack?
     
  13. Jason R

    Jason R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its built into the rom. Something about the base its built on

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  14. REMilk

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    I use the app "FoxFi" with my Droid 3 to make what I believe is a "mobile hotspot." To get this to work on the Droid 3, that is bypass the need to have a 'hotspot account', follow these steps:
    1. Start FoxFi
    2. Put Droid 3 into Airplane Mode
    3. Bring Droid 3 out of Airplane Mode
    Seems to work fine for me. My coworkers have at least seen my 'hotspot', but I have not given out my password so I do not know if anyone else can connect while I am connected.

    Good Luck,
    Bob
     
  15. Bullitt6996

    Bullitt6996 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    It is built into the Droid 3's radios. However some of the recent ROM's have a workaround built in. That's an interesting Trick mentioned with Fox-Fi, hadn't heard of that one. I myself went to xda's site and did the radio hack I found outlined there. What it does is reclassify signals in your phone so that your 3g wifi hotspot looks like simple data traffic, keeps that verizon screen from popping, and once you do the hack, you can use the app that's already on your phone for mobile hotspot.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Broku
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    6,782
  2. thekid
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,620
  3. Faithfill
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,503
  4. uconn_jack
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. my1jazz
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    755
Loading...
Search tags for this page
how do i retrieve droids hotspot secuity code
,
how to change security code to mobile hot spot on a galaxy s
,
mobile hotspot security key
,
security key for hot spot on my phone
,
security key for verizon hotspot
,
security key for verizon mobile hotspot droid x2
,
verizon default hotspot security key
,

verizon hotspot security key

,

verizon mobile hotspot security key

,
where do i get a security code for my droid x2 mobile hotspo