Mobile Hotspot question

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless' started by wilyums, Jan 6, 2016.

  1. wilyums

    wilyums Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +4
    Needing internet, I broke down after moving and paid for the Hotspot. I was trying to find out how much I have used and couldn't. So I went to Verizon chat and the agent told me,I paid the fee and because I was unlimited my hotspot was also unlimited. I saved the transcript, but can anyone confirm this? I always thought they limited the Hotspot. Thanks in advance.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  2. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,315
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,348
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I thought so too but I may be wrong. Definitely save that transcript.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Yes..sorry I saw this but was busy.if you're unlimited data..and buy the hotspot..it too is unlimited.. Now this has changed but this is the way it currently is..i too have WiFi hotspot..and if you want to see what you've used..go into settings... Data usage, and scroll down..you'll see it..I recently started watching breaking bad and either they claim more than is being used, or streaming 2 episodes is just wow...

    In my experience.. We had foxfi and streamed and the numbers were way lower than vzw's figures...just saying...I know that's not relevant.. But passing it along..
     
    • Like Like x 4
  4. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Just an FYI: The numbers you'll see via the "data" option within your system settings will vary anywhere from 8-10gb, from what you've actually used. That's why you'll notice it says you've used "about" such & such amount. If you aren't on an unlimited plan and need much more precise numbers, I would advise using the "My Verizon Mobile" app that is considered bloat and should be already preloaded on pretty much every Verizon mobile device. (If it isn't, just do a search in the play store) Mine is currently showing a 9.605gb difference over the data/system settings "estimate".
    I've always used this app to pay my bill each month as well as look into the specifics a bit closer since I don't receive a copy of my statement each month. It's one of the few Verizon apps I actually find useful.


    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. wilyums

    wilyums Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +4
    I use My Verizon also. That is the reason I got in contact with them. I couldn't find the actual data I was using while using the Hotspot

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  6. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Ok, gotcha. It should still be lumped together under your plans data since it's considered "unlimited". There shouldn't be any data limit or plans on Verizon's "hotspot" anymore AFAIK, but I could be wrong.

    Hang in there and hopefully @jackiescivic can chime in on this one since she's a Verizon rep.

    Update: in the My Verizon app, look under "Profile", then "manage network programs", see if the hotspot info is listed there.


    S5 tap'n
     
    #6 cr6, Jan 6, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  7. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    If you check where I said..it will show you your hot spot data..but as i said..the accuracy is in question for me...but you're unlimited.. So really it doesn't matter....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,532
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,437
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I'm not on an unlimited plan, but I've found the system data counter to be pretty darn close to accurate. I haven't really used tethering though, so that might be different. Did you guys set up the data counter with your billing cycle? Because that would make a difference.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    I thought it automatically sets it up to your billing cycle? Not sure if each device is different that way, but it's always been set to my billing cycle on my Galaxy S devices.

    S5 tap'n
     
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,532
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,437
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    In the settings of the phone? How would the phone know when your billing cycle ends?
     
  11. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    My billing cycle is always in the 16th. [​IMG]
    But I see what you mean with the "change cycle" option at the bottom, I didn't notice that before since I rarely go in there. Learn something new everyday. Thx JK!

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,532
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,437
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I believe it just starts with whatever date the phone was first turned on/activated. I know i changed it on my 6P recently, but I also swear that I had to do so on my Note 4 last year. When I got the Note, that's when I dropped my UDP, so I was suddenly slightly more concerned with tracking my data usage.