1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Mobile data keeps turning off!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by nonnasmyladie, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    So my phone will be silent I look and the 4glte logo is gone.

    I have to go turn it back on with a wigit toggle or restart the phone.

    Why does this keep happening?

    Ugh I hate this phone!!

    sent from my thunderbolt
  2. mafiafan123
    Offline

    mafiafan123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same issue since the last ota and the gb ota I'm stock not rooted has been going on since then I also have the extended battery case from htc don't know if that matters. It will go to 4G sometimes to nothing sometimes to 3g or 1x in a perfectly covered open area with full signal. Any tips or ideas
  3. slinky
    Offline

    slinky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Similar issues. I sometimes lose the entire connection. Comes back by rebooting the phone or sometimes pulling the SIM. Crazy.
  4. mafiafan123
    Offline

    mafiafan123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same data widget on off from htc fixes mine but why it does this confuses me in thing of a full restore wipe to stock
  5. kumicho
    Offline

    kumicho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had the same problem after the June (July?) OTA finally pushed through sometime around early Sept. Finally called VZ and they pushed an updated radio to the phone (requiring pulling the battery/sim card) and it's been fine since.
  6. mafiafan123
    Offline

    mafiafan123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know which radio they have cause I'm thinking of switching and rooting

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
  7. onefast96svt
    Offline

    onefast96svt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    same problem here...

    I just started having this issue a few days ago. I'm rooted. I installed a radio some said was a good radio. And ever since my data keeps turning off. The only way I can keep it on is by setting it to cdma only and to home and not auto like it should be. I even switched back to a different radio and I'm still haveibg problems. And another weird thing is when I go to mobile network it will be unchecked but when I look at toggle or hold down power button they both say its on. Or network will be checked but still on or working. The info on that radio update you got would be great.
  8. ajk23az
    Offline

    ajk23az New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Same. I'm rooted and am running das bamf SoAB. Very strange.
  9. onefast96svt
    Offline

    onefast96svt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    Just realized I don't have to have it on home only. But it does have to be in cdma auto to get any internet at all. Lte shuts down all internet.
  10. recDNA
    Offline

    recDNA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Will VZW EVER FIX THIS? Do they even KNOW about it? Tbolt owners are getting screwed imo. Yes, it happens to me too.
  11. Nyobie
    Offline

    Nyobie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Mine is working well and has been all week. No delays switching to Wifi at my house and back to 4G on demand or automatically when I leave my house. Stock phone, Comcast Wifi... Any idea why only some TBolt owners are having issues and others aren't?

    Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt
  12. capt. dan
    Offline

    capt. dan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We just got 4G this week and I am having the same problem. I was thinking it was the conversion but maybe not.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  13. theguy
    Offline

    theguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using GB OTA and stock everything. LTE only turns off IF wifi is on and I use it. The second I turn off wifi LTE lights and stays on. Whatever the issue may be is not systemic to everyone. To state the obvious, it turns off when it is not the default DATA route. Settings?
  14. capt. dan
    Offline

    capt. dan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone having this problem in a non 4G area. Reason I ask is mine did not start until they switched 4G on this week.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  15. delerivm
    Offline

    delerivm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FWIW: I got the GB OTA before it was pulled. Since then I have noticed that juice defender and 2x battery apps cause more data connectivity problems than I had on Froyo. I stopped using them because my data connection would not come back without a reboot, several times a day. Even without those apps I seem to have more data connectivity issue than before. I've also had a few random reboots this week :( hoping this improves with the next OTA!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  16. GolfOx
    Offline

    GolfOx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3G area problems with data connection

    I got the 2.3.4 update before it was pulled. Have had intermittent data connection problems since. I use wifi most of the time but it appears to be related to switching radios. It is working fine this morning. I do keep LTE off.
  17. onefast96svt
    Offline

    onefast96svt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    Mine is still kinda screwy! Before internet would ONLY work if it was default to CDMA AUTO PRL. If I put it on any LTE I wouldnt get any internet what so ever. Now the phone, by itself, will switch default to CDMA/LTE Auto and work fine. Then go back to not picking up anything at all. Then I have to switch it back to CDMA AUTO PRL to get internet. Since I dont have service at my house I have to use a booster and wifi so I cant really run any tests here, and then when I get out of the house Im always busy. So I hope someone finds a cure.
  18. capt. dan
    Offline

    capt. dan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running 2.3 and have a new phone coming to me this week. I would guess it will have 2.2, will see if that helps. Hopefully the new update is soon. I am wifi only, no data working at all right now.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  19. kparks
    Offline

    kparks Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    I can def confirm this... the restart connection app works just as good and is a lot quicker... And YouTube ain't worth a crap now for me only works on wifi or 4g

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  20. BucksBroke
    Offline

    BucksBroke New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Started with this problem of phone turning data on and off by itself, now progressed into only 1x data. Even after a couple reboots in different locations.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
Search tags for this page
android mobile data keeps turning off
,
htc thunderbolt mobile network keeps turning off
,
mobile data keeps turning off
,
mobile network keeps turning off
,
mobile network keeps turning off htc
,
my mobile network keeps turning off
,
thunderbolt mobile network keeps turning off
,

thunderbolt mobile network turning off

,
verizon mobile data keeps turning off
,
verizon mobile network keeps turning off
,

why does my 3g keep turning off

,

why does my data keep turning off

,

why does my mobile data keep turning off

,
why does my mobile network keep shutting off
,

why does my mobile network keep turning off