Mobile Broadband Connect?

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by SWJED, May 1, 2010.

  1. SWJED
    Offline

    SWJED New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just switched (via Verizon) from a Blackberry Curve to the HTC Incredible. I used my Blackberry as a modem for my laptop quite a bit and still require that capability with my new Incredible. I kept my plan in place at Verizon to ensure I could still do this but I've been unsucessful so far in using my new Droid as a modem. I've been through the manual, etc. but can't find the problem. I'm using VZAccess Manager on Vista as my interface. It won't recorgnize the device and keeps prompting me to insert a non-existent CD or go to HTC's web page to download the driver software - which is not there as far as I can tell.

    Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
  2. orenb
    Offline

    orenb New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mobile Broadband

    First of all- I'm new at this.

    I just got my new Incredible- my first Smartphone and the VZ rep helped me with the mobile broadband setup. I had been using a VZ Novatel USB broadband modem on computers running Windows XP.

    These were his instructions which worked for me:

    1) Go to Control Panel in XP and remove Verizon Access Manager as well as the Mobile Generic Drivers programs which had been used with the Novatel 760. I was told having multiple programs and drivers would cause confusion.

    2)Go to VZAccess Manager

    3)Go down to (PDA/Advanced Device)
    Choose HTC Incredible and download new Access Manager software appropriate for your computer's OS.

    4)Connect the phone to the computer via USB and follow instructions.


    I must say I had to be patient - it took a little while to recognize it and work. Hope this works for you.
     
  3. Acid7711
    Offline

    Acid7711 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I take it this is unlike the traditional wifi tethering where it's somewhat invisible to their servers? With this, obviously they probably are able to know you're tethering and thus a charge to those who don't have the plan for it would get charged?

    I've never really tethered much, hardly at all, more or less just a test run here and there, but, to be able to have it as a last resort option would be nice.
     
  4. SWJED
    Offline

    SWJED New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks!

    orenb, thanks much, it worked like a charm and I now can use my Incredible as a laptop modem.
     
  5. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Rich734
    Offline

    Rich734 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been unable to tether as well. I have the programs installed on my laptop and can connect to the phone via the programs but it tells me I need a $15/mo access plan. I upgraded my Alltel phone to the Incredible without changing the plan and I have a full data access plan with the Alltel account. I think this is something I'm going to have to battle with the Verizon staff at the store. I refuse to pay for something which I already have.
     
  7. Capt.D
    Offline

    Capt.D Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tethering on HTC Droid Incredible

    Step 1: reprogramming your phone

    from your phone, dial ##pst
    enter security code 000000
    click "edit mode"
    scroll down to Security
    change the "S.IP DUN User Name" to "<your phone number>@vzw3g.com"
    hit back
    scroll down to "M.IP Default Profile"
    change "DUN NAI" to "<your phone number>@vzw3g.com"
    press menu, choose "Commit Modifications."
    The phone will power cycle.

    Step 2: Computer setup

    Drivers: download and install VZ Access Manager from http ://www .vzam .net
    don't run the program, you only want it for the drivers.

    Next, plug your phone in to the computer. Let windows take care of the driver installation.

    Per your version of windows, you'll need to set up a manual dial-up networking connection. Settings you'll need:

    Phone Number: #777
    Username: "<your phone number>@vzw3g.com"
    Password: vzw

    Step 3:
    browse the internet.
     
  8. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    will verizon know youve tethered and charge you for it using this hack?
     
  9. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's not a hack, it's just the old way of doing things. They will indeed know (doesnt matter, since he pays for the service) because he's using their Access Manager.
     
  10. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think they really mind as long as you try to be reasonable and not tie up enough bandwidth to support 10 clients.
     
  11. Mark_Venture
    Offline

    Mark_Venture Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually, IF he's using paying for the service, then there is need to use those instructions and hack the phone.

    Yes, its the old way of doing things that violated VZW's TOS back then, and still does today, so I'll add the following...

    If you tether without paying VZW for their Broadband Access plan or Mobile Broadband Connect plan (no matter how you do it), you're going against VZW's Terms of Service (that you agreed to when your started or renewed your contract with them). If caught, there could be repercussions (termination of service, hefty bill, etc.). If you're ok with that possibilty then do what you want... And ignorance to that fact isn't an excuse if you get caught.


    I'll repeat what I've said many times back in the day on Hofo... I'm not going to say you can or can't do this, I'm not going to say you should or shouldn't.. I'm not going to say if VZW *WILL* or *WILL NOT* catch you. But I DO think people should have the facts so they can fully understand the decision they are making.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2010
Search tags for this page
dial codes to access free internet service on droid incredib
,
droid incredible broadband mobile connect
,
droid mobile broadband connect
,
droid mobile broadband connect application
,
how to connect mobile internet to htc incredible 2
,
htc broadband connect
,
htc incredible 2 provide mobile broadband to pc
,
htc mobile broadband connect
,

mobile broadband connect htc incredible

,
vzaccess manager kindle fire hdx 7