Milestone carrier compatibility list

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by shatteredzman, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am creating a spread sheet to show what carriers the droid and milestone are compatible with. I dont think anyone has done anything like this yet. I am having a hard time finding what bands foreign carriers use because I only speak english. If anyone would like to contribute to the spread sheet or see any errors it would be really helpful so make a post.

    Right now I am working on the following carriers 3G and GSM bands.
    USA
    AT&T
    Verizon
    T-Mobile

    South America
    Claro
    TIM

    Germany
    O2
    Vodaphone

    And any other common carrier in a the countries the droid/milestone is released in.

    Since I cant upload a .xlsx file I attached a picture of the spread sheet.
    I also uploaded the spread sheet as a .doc file, to open it you will have to rename it to a .xlsx file.

    I updated the picture but not the spreadsheet.
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2009
  2. MountainX
    Offline

    MountainX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for this
  3. MountainX
    Offline

    MountainX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can we draw some conclusions from this spreadsheet for US carriers?

    If the spreadsheet is correct, the Euro Milestone is supposed to support these frequencies:
    GSM 1800
    GSM 1900
    GSM 850
    GSM 900
    WCDMA 2100
    WCDMA 900

    That would make it compatible with AT&T and T-Mobile in US (at 2g speed/gsm), and maybe with T-Mobile in US at 3g speed (?). Am I right?
  4. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just about any phone will work with any network using GSM. The European milestone should get 3G with T-Mobile on the 2100 band, I may be wrong though. I have done more work with the spreadsheet and I will post the updated version.
  5. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Hey,

    thanks for the List, BUT
    the Milestone will be also aviable for these Providers, but
    in Summer next Year:

    Base/E+
    T-Mobile
  6. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Just because it's not available yet to them doesn't mean they can't get one from another country and use it within the united states. I'm sure that if someone got a milestone and brought it to the US they could make it work on the T-Mob network.
  7. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is basically what I am doing.
  8. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    That's what i figured was going on, bad thing for the droid is really it's only compatible with verizon lol.

    I'd almost rather have a milestone from Europe then the droid. But then again i also don't want T-Mob lol.
  9. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I need a phone that will work just about anywhere. Just have to wait until its come out in a 850/1900 3G band... I am so impatient that I am tempted to buy a 900/2100 3G phone but people are selling them for $800+, thats ridiculous, I would rather wait.
  10. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    You remember what the first prices of jailbroken iphones where?
  11. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I never owned one and didnt care. I am hoping the exchange rate in Argentina will work in my favor and I can get it at a decent price. I am hoping the price will drop by the time its released in Argentina, the current rumor is it will be released sometime in the 2nd week of december.
  12. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Lol the first jailbroken iphone went for the price of the guys Mercedes.
  13. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How long did it take for the price to go down to about $600?
  14. Unimaginative
    Offline

    Unimaginative New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orrstraliar
    I can confirm the Milestone works perfectly with Vodafone Australia's network, and I can say that it'd also work on Optus' network (as they're pretty much identical).
  15. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why? VZW is the only carrier worth a damn here in the US... ;)
  16. horazius
    Offline

    horazius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    America's version (not only north America) of the milestone is 850/1900/2100 3G, and Quad GSM.
  17. lexcyn
    Offline

    lexcyn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to a press release from Telus (one of the carriers we have up here in Canada), the Milestone is set to be released in "early 2010" on our HSDPA+ network.

    According to the Canadian page for the Milestone, it will work on the following frequencies:

    GSM w/HSDPA, GSM 850/1900, HSUPA

    This should be compatible with AT&T's 3G network, as well as all the major GSM providers here in Canada as well (Bell, Telus & Rogers).

    I'm guessing these will come locked to Telus, but I'm sure there will be an unlock available.

    I can't wait to get mine!
  18. biutu
    Offline

    biutu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if I am reading this correctly...I will be able to buy the Milestone and use the AT&T SIM card I have. Just that it wont be on the AT&T 3G network...correct? That would be fine with me, where I live the 3G network is practically non-existent anyways. Can anyone confirm this asap? I am looking towards buying one, and I found one at a great price.
  19. shatteredzman
    Offline

    shatteredzman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes any milestone will work with any gsm carrier. The only troubles you will run into is 3G but since your not worried about that buy whatever you want. Make sure to buy an unlocked phone.
    You can get a milestone on ebay for about $600. Just make sure you get the milestone and not the droid, some listers dont know what they are listing and list the droid as the "droid milestone" and its the CDMA version.

    motorola milestone, Cell Phones Smartphones, Unlocked. Great deals on eBay!
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  20. aeth
    Offline

    aeth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Representing Australia!

    Supported Australian Networks:
    Optus (900, 2100)
    Vodafone (900, 2100)
    Virgin (900, 2100)
    3 (Three) (2100)
    TPG (900, 2100)
    Telstra (850, 2100) ('NextG' only with the Canadian version, European version supports HSDPA only in built-up areas)
Search tags for this page
carriers for motorola milestone
,
is a motorola milestone x2 a compatible phone with at&t?
,
is the milestone x compatible with at & t
,
milestone 3 carrier
,
milestone 3 carrier compatibility
,
milestone compatibility
,
milestone droid 2 set up to carrier
,
milestone list
,
milestone x compatable phone carriers
,
milstone carriers
,

motorola milestone carrier

,
motorola milestone carrier verizon
,
motorola milestone droid carrier
,
motorola milestone x carriers
,
what carrier does the motorola milestone work with