Milestone carrier compatibility list

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by shatteredzman, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. shatteredzman

    shatteredzman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am creating a spread sheet to show what carriers the droid and milestone are compatible with. I dont think anyone has done anything like this yet. I am having a hard time finding what bands foreign carriers use because I only speak english. If anyone would like to contribute to the spread sheet or see any errors it would be really helpful so make a post.

    Right now I am working on the following carriers 3G and GSM bands.
    USA
    AT&T
    Verizon
    T-Mobile

    South America
    Claro
    TIM

    Germany
    O2
    Vodaphone

    And any other common carrier in a the countries the droid/milestone is released in.

    Since I cant upload a .xlsx file I attached a picture of the spread sheet.
    I also uploaded the spread sheet as a .doc file, to open it you will have to rename it to a .xlsx file.

    I updated the picture but not the spreadsheet.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2009
  2. MountainX

    MountainX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this
     
  3. MountainX

    MountainX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can we draw some conclusions from this spreadsheet for US carriers?

    If the spreadsheet is correct, the Euro Milestone is supposed to support these frequencies:
    GSM 1800
    GSM 1900
    GSM 850
    GSM 900
    WCDMA 2100
    WCDMA 900

    That would make it compatible with AT&T and T-Mobile in US (at 2g speed/gsm), and maybe with T-Mobile in US at 3g speed (?). Am I right?
     
  4. shatteredzman

    shatteredzman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just about any phone will work with any network using GSM. The European milestone should get 3G with T-Mobile on the 2100 band, I may be wrong though. I have done more work with the spreadsheet and I will post the updated version.
     
  5. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    thanks for the List, BUT
    the Milestone will be also aviable for these Providers, but
    in Summer next Year:

    Base/E+
    T-Mobile
     
  6. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just because it's not available yet to them doesn't mean they can't get one from another country and use it within the united states. I'm sure that if someone got a milestone and brought it to the US they could make it work on the T-Mob network.
     
  7. shatteredzman

    shatteredzman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is basically what I am doing.
     
  8. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    That's what i figured was going on, bad thing for the droid is really it's only compatible with verizon lol.

    I'd almost rather have a milestone from Europe then the droid. But then again i also don't want T-Mob lol.
     
  9. shatteredzman

    shatteredzman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I need a phone that will work just about anywhere. Just have to wait until its come out in a 850/1900 3G band... I am so impatient that I am tempted to buy a 900/2100 3G phone but people are selling them for $800+, thats ridiculous, I would rather wait.
     
  10. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    You remember what the first prices of jailbroken iphones where?
     
  11. shatteredzman

    shatteredzman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I never owned one and didnt care. I am hoping the exchange rate in Argentina will work in my favor and I can get it at a decent price. I am hoping the price will drop by the time its released in Argentina, the current rumor is it will be released sometime in the 2nd week of december.
     
  12. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Lol the first jailbroken iphone went for the price of the guys Mercedes.
     
  13. shatteredzman

    shatteredzman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How long did it take for the price to go down to about $600?
     
  14. Unimaginative

    Unimaginative New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orrstraliar
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm the Milestone works perfectly with Vodafone Australia's network, and I can say that it'd also work on Optus' network (as they're pretty much identical).
     
  15. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why? VZW is the only carrier worth a damn here in the US... ;)
     
Search tags for this page
carriers for motorola milestone
,
is the milestone x compatible with at & t
,
milestone 3 carrier
,
milestone compatibility
,
milestone droid 2 set up to carrier
,
milestone list
,

motorola milestone carrier

,
motorola milestone carrier verizon
,
motorola milestone droid carrier
,
motorola milestone x carriers