Mid Root Kinda stuck Help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dmaleck, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all, new here but decided to root my phone today so bare with me....im new :) So i successfully rooted my phone and am now on the Flashing and recovery. My problem is downloaded the Flash_image from here....http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...-phone-2-1-rom-o-c-mm-boot-animation-etc.html

    It went on my comp as Flash_image.zip I read somewhere else that i need to get rid of the .zip, its actually under winzip and when i hit extract files it has an error the the file doesn't exist....so how to I unzip it? I got stuck here because I was on the terminal emulator when your have to type in the dd if=.... when I got donre typing that it it said it doesnt exist. Thanks in advance for help!
     
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
  3. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW, thanks for the quick reply, that worked like a charm. Damn you guys are good on here!
     
  4. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kind of stuck again lol. I downloaded titanium backup and am attempting to install busybox but only keep getting to 50% only. ive tried like 15 times...wat should I do?
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
  6. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    will I still beable to backup all my apps and what not without titanium?

    adb shell
    su
    dd if=/sdcard/busy.sh of=/data/local/busy.sh
    cd /data/local
    ./busy.sh

    did that but on my terminal emulator when i type "adb shell" sais access denied, so I put "su" first and then "adb shell" sais not found? hmmm
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  7. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright, I have Titanium working now, and busybox working. When I goto backup the apps there all 0's like i have no apps? whats up with that? sorry for being such a noob lol
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    If you are using the phone terminal, leave off the adb shell line.
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry, you've reached the end of my support. ;)

    I don't know anything about Titanium. I use nandroid for my backups.
     
  10. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm its kind of pissing me off, how do you backup your apps using nandroid? Im sick of trying to figure out this titanium ****.:icon_eek:
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just reboot to recovery and go to backup. I don't use sprecovery, but clockwork instead. There is an app called Rom manager on the market that will install it for you. Also gives you a nifty GUI for downloading roms and backing up/managing backups.

    The free version is sufficient. The paid version brings OTA update notification plus the ability to download different ROMs.
     
  12. dmaleck

    dmaleck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry im so dumb lol, so technically since I have nandroid and sprecovery all my stuff is already back up? so once I install bugless beast and I want to go back ill just goto sprecovery?