Micro sd problem

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by thub2431, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. thub2431

    thub2431 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok as many of you have either heard of or experienced the issue yourself with the micro sd cards. I can't get any support from Verizon bc they say I have to call sandisk bc that is the company they get the cards from and sandisk wont help either bc there is no sd logo on the card. So im stuck and upset I lost everything on my card bc it went bad, and yes I even went as far as sending it off to a data recovery specialist with still no luck. My fault should have been syncing it regularly. But now I need a new sd card and I am needing to know if it will matter wether I use a high capacity sd or what. Im looking to get another 16gb if not a 32gb but need to make sure if it makes a difference wether the card is high capacity or not. Sorry for the long story and any help is greatly appreciated.

    T.J.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    You have a HC card.

    I am pretty sure these aren't Sandisk cards because there is no logo. Moto definitely saved a couple bucks by giving us off brand SD cards.

    sent from my ApeX
     
  3. thub2431

    thub2431 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great. Thanx a lot for the help. And yea that's what I was thinking since I was unable to trace any of the serial numbers on the card itself to any company and esp sandisk.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    My d2 came with a sandisk card. Anything over 2GB is hc I believe.
    I use a Topram 16gb class 4 card (amazon $29.99). I heard the d2 doesn't respond well to 32gb, but who knows.

    From the Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
     
  5. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    I know mine is a generic cheapo that came with the phone. The D2 might be different since it was an 8 gig.

    I have bought SanDisk SD cards new for cheap on eBay.

    sent from my ApeX
     
  6. Mikeyg79

    Mikeyg79 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    do the higher speed cards make any difference when used in the phones?
     
  7. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I say no need to go higher than a class 4 really. Class 10 is just overkill imo. My class 4 screams and runs instant for all practical purposes

    From the Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
     
Search tags for this page
8 gig microsd card problemd
,

droid x micro sd problems

,
droid x2 microsd problem
,
problem using sd 15 gig card in phone