Micro SD cards for HD/MAXX HD | Class 10 32GB vs 64GB

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR HD' started by macpro88, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Odd. I have a 32 Class 10 on order, SanDisk Ultra. So we shall see if I have any issues with it. If so I'll try to find one that doesn't have all those coatings on it for water proof etc...
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    I guess I could've simply gotten a bad one, too.
     
  3. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +431
    I've been looking at it today when I've had the time, lots and lots of people saying 64 doesn't work for more than a few minutes and only "when it wants to." Obviously other peoples word for it is not concrete evidence but it's looking more and more to me that it's just not meant to have more than 32g in it.

    Edit: Then again i just found this link..... http://www.shopandroid.com/motorola-razr-hd-all-microsd-cards.htm which has a 64 gb card advertised specifically for the HD.... I don't know.
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,626
    Likes Received:
    3,506
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,965
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I have a 64 gig sandisk in my maxx g1, and I used the same card in my maxx HD when I had it. It worked just fine..:eek::confused:
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
  6. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Updated OP with some more info.

    Final conclusion, 64GB cards will just not work...
     
  7. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +431
    :(

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  8. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    :( Indeed...
     
  9. lovemyram4x4

    lovemyram4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've been using a Sandisk mobile ultra 64gb class 10 in my Razr HD since SS3 came out w/o any issues. I was using my Samsung 32gb class 10 from my OG Razr prior to the 64gb also w/o issue on the Razr HD, I did have issues at times on my OG Razr with writing to both internal & external storage, & had the SD card pop up as blank a couple of times(corrupted partition table).

    Most if not all of the time that I had the 64gb SD card in has been on 4.1. I mainly just use the SD card for storing music, pictures/videos, backups(both ROMs & user apps/data/etc). I copied all the old data from my 32gb to the 64gb SD card using root browser(romtoolbox) with 64gb in the SD card slot & the 32gb in a USB adapter in one the docks USB ports. I've had no issues reading/writing using romtoolbox(all other aspects not just root browser), stock files browser, SS3 or any other apps with the 64gb SD.

    It also shows up in storage manager as expected.
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
     
  10. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Thank you for your input, maybe being on 4.1 will make the card usable and compatible. Maybe I'll flash the leak when I have time to try this out.

    Have you tried using the "Manage Internal Storage" function to move media over that way? Back the card up and try it out and let me know if it moves large amount of data over with no issues.

    This is interesting...
     
  11. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Also, just got my Class 10 32GB card and the first thing I tried was using storage manager to move movies over and it worked just fine.

    I hope Jelly Bean likes the 64GB card cause that would be awesome.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD
     
  12. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +431
    Well at least you know its the gigs not the class... that's good.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr hd sd card
,
droid razr maxx hd 64gb micro sd
,
droid razr maxx hd micro sd
,
droid razr maxx hd micro sd card
,
droid razr maxx hd sd card
,
droid razr maxx hd sd card slot
,
razr hd sd card
,
razr maxx hd micro sd card
,

razr maxx hd sd card

,
sd card for razr maxx hd