metiCkMod | FRG83D | Froyo 2.2.1

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by metiCkOne, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. white_ash143

    white_ash143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to a few posts earlier... don't bother wiping more than once, you're wasting your time. Whenever you wipe data/factory reset, it's like starting with a clean slate on your phone. In the majority of cases, you just want to do each of the wiping options once and then install zip from sdcard.
     
  2. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    you're going to want to wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache partition. They're two different partitions.

    White Ash is right. You only need to wipe once. Your just wasting your time and battery after that.
     
  3. DontCome2MyHouse

    DontCome2MyHouse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. So when I select each of those (I'm guessing it doesn't matter which I choose first)...and it completes the wipe...it will take me back to the option menu of "install zip from sdcard" correct?

    Also...If I want to install the zip Add-Ons...do I just put them on my SDcard, reboot into Clockwork Recovery and choose "install zip from SDcard", choose the zip Add-On and repeat the process for each Add-On? I'm assuming I don't wipe again for installing Add-Ons.
     
  4. white_ash143

    white_ash143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    No more wiping.... cuz then you're back to square one each time... lol... if you are familiar with formatting partitions on a computer it's the same concept.... be wary of which add-ons you flash back to back. Usually ROM's and google apps packages must be installed back to back but for other add-ons and what-not you will want to do each one separate and be sure to reboot and make a new backup after each one just in case one fails.

    Edit: oops forgot which thread I was in... thought this was the regular stock ROM. Anyways, his add-ons restore apps that he trimmed off to lighten the ROM for us minimalist freaks. It's pretty much the same as taking his base stock ROM and just deleting certain apps out of /system.... not sure if that applies to ALL the ones he removed but most can be done that way.
     
  5. DontCome2MyHouse

    DontCome2MyHouse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to install all his add-ons on the OP. Do I need to reboot after each zip install? Again thanks for all the help.
     
  6. white_ash143

    white_ash143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you don't have to reboot each time. That's why I edited my post earlier. His add-ons are simply readding /system .apk's that he removed cuz they were deemed unnecessary for a barebones ROM.

    Edit: It's the same thing as if you had a stock android ROM on your phone and deleted unnecessary .apk's that you don't use... like the dreaded Amazon mp3 app or corporate calendar.... stuff like that. If you plan on restoring all the add-ons then consider his stock deodexed FRG83D ROM. It has all the apps still in /system.
     
  7. bassman1547

    bassman1547 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lancaster, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant seem to get any connection with FRD83D. Iv'e tried others (sorry)....same thing. Any more ideas. Love the Rom, except for this glitch, which could something other than the Rom?
     
  8. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't get a data connection?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. DontCome2MyHouse

    DontCome2MyHouse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read that I should not restore system apps in Titanium Backup. I'm assuming that system apps are the ones listed in red? If I don't restore Camera, Phone, Gallery, Calculator, Clock, Contacts, Bluetooth, Market, Account Sync & Settings and other odds and ends how should I get them back? I understand not restoring Amazon, but the others seem critical.
     
  10. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    None of these should take more than 5 minutes to set back up. I've personally experienced issues with all of them when restoring data from previous roms. I cant tell you how many times my alarm clock didnt go off. Just food for thought.
     
  11. DontCome2MyHouse

    DontCome2MyHouse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry maybe I wasn't clear. I know not to restore data. I'm talking about just restoring those system apps listed above without data.

    For example, if I don't restore Clock or Calculator (app only), will it be missing? Or are you saying it's okay to restore your system apps, just don't restore data?
     
  12. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I see what you're saying. All the apps you mentioned are included in the rom. If you want to restore an app that is not already in the rom than you can restore the app.
     
Search tags for this page
android 2.2.1 live wallpaper picker
,
bb ass apk for froyo 2.2.1
,
droid 2 metickmod wifi
,
live wallpaper picker android 2.2.1 download
,
live wallpaper picker froyo system app
,

metickmod

,

metickmod 1.0

,
metickmod frg83d