Metamorph

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tdawg5480, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. tdawg5480
    Offline

    tdawg5480 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Someone pointed out metamorph to me to change our themes on the fly
    if your using it or trying to and are stuck at the unable to open .zip make sure busybox is installed /system heres the fix assuming busybox is installed

    you must be rooted!!!!!!!

    download metamorph from market
    download andexplorer from market
    link cp with busybox- open adb shell type the following
    ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp
    reboot
    now metamorph should work
    Do not apply any theme without a good nandroid backup
    I am not reponsible if you botch your droid !!!!!!!
    Have fun
  2. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you sure that symbolic link is correct? Dont you really want the cp command to be as "busybox cp" or just the cp version of busybox (which then you would have to install, and then copy or move this version to /system/bin.
  3. tdawg5480
    Offline

    tdawg5480 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    english plz? lol...jk i just found and posted the fix but the command busybox cp and cp both work and so does metamorph
  4. mrZoSo
    Offline

    mrZoSo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
  5. mr2man07
    Offline

    mr2man07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Des Moines
    If it doesn't work and if you find the busybox file in /system/xbin instead of /system/bin, use:

    ln -s /system/xbin/busybox /system/xbin/cp

    I could not get it to work before, but it worked this time.
  6. bots
    Offline

    bots New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yeah I successfully made a morph for a pretty nice battery icon for the taskbar, it worked fine in 2.10. I upgraded to 2.1 and then i read that people were having problems changing the taskbar icons in 2.1, so I kinda set it aside for a while. Anyone tried changing taskbar icons in 2.1??? I don't want to be a guinea pig.
  7. SwordOfWar
    Offline

    SwordOfWar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I have seen, some apps use system/bin to find busybox, while others you system/xbin...

    So basically, for compatibility reasons, you should probably copy it to both /system/bin and /system/xbin so nomatter what you use, it can find it. It wastes some extra phone space, but is probably worth it since it will make things easier in the future (better compatibility)..
  8. bher20
    Offline

    bher20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all,
    I have been using, metamorph for a little bit, is there anywhere I can revert my droid back to its default theme, preMetaMorph. If there isnt anywhere to download this my sister has a stock droid what can I copy from hers to mine to get mine stock again?
    Thanks a lot. These forums are very useful!
    -Brad
  9. psufan5
    Offline

    psufan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whats your email? I have the stock theme for you.
  10. TheMayor
    Offline

    TheMayor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rooting after 2.1 is installed

    I have installed android 2.1 and I was wonder how you can get root command after the fact. Now when I'm at the terminal su does nothing, I dont get the #.
  11. evilsock
    Offline

    evilsock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    knox county TN
    using better term emu pro i get permission denied with bin and xbin
    any thoughts?
  12. SwordOfWar
    Offline

    SwordOfWar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make sure you put the su file on the phone after rooting it. also make sure you didn't block it with the superuser permission app
  13. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everytime I try to load my changes with metamorph my phone reboots, but I'm using a pretty early 2.1 install still.
  14. quadjacks
    Offline

    quadjacks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried to apply fix but got

    link failed Read-only file system

    Anything thoughts?
  15. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, mount /system as read/write first.

    Code:
     
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    ln -s /system/xbin/busybox /system/xbin/cp
    mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    exit
    
  16. ryan64
    Offline

    ryan64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    it says link failed, file exists
    Any ideas>?
  17. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    im getting this too
  18. akrab
    Offline

    akrab New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    I get the same error link failed file exists..... getting very frustrated :(
  19. yamaha83
    Offline

    yamaha83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when doing a "good nandroid backup" what options should have a star by them before you start it? all of them? or just the 3 default ones that come up with a star by them?
  20. TheGr838
    Offline

    TheGr838 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im also getting link failed file exists. metamorph working fine while using BB 0.7.6 anybody got any other ideas besides what's posted as these do not work...
Similar Threads
  1. JasonPurp
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    711
  2. Proxin
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,368
  3. calfly
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    545
  4. omala
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,499
  5. Dolfns99
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    745
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid 4 metamorph themes
,
metamorph
,
metamorph android 4.4
,

metamorph droid

,
metamorph themes
,
metamorph themes for droid 4
,
taskbar editor metamorph