Metamorph/busybox help please

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by kelimandya, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. kelimandya
    Offline

    kelimandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm currently having problems installing metamorph and busybox, any help would be greatly appreciated, and in advance in a huge linux noob so take everything I say with a grain of salt. I followed these steps:
    1. Open DroidRootHelper.
    2. Select: "Mount mtdblock3 System read/write
    3. Scoll down and select: "Install and chmod busybox(installs to /system/bin)
    4. Start up Terminal Emulator (It can be found on the marketplace one worked for the droid and one did not, both were named the same).
    5. Type: "su" minus the quotes and Press enter
    6. Type "ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp" Minus the quotes. That is Ln not "I"n make sure there is a SPACE between "-s" as well as ".../busybox"
    7. Start up MetaMorph.
    8. Go back to your DroidRootHelper and unmount what you did in step 2
    9. Reboot!

    I managed to get complete step 6. Unfortunately on step seven I get the error from metamorph telling me that i either don't have enough room or that busybox isn't installed. I've recieved some mixed signals though, I performed a check for busybox which indicated that it wasn't installed, but when trying to repeat the above steps I can get to line six and it tells me that the file was already installed. Help please :)
  2. Dave Droid
    Offline

    Dave Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    You might not actually have BusyBox installed. I followed the directions from the first reply post on this thread last night and it worked wonders and now I have Metamorph working.

    If your positive you have BusyBox installed, make sure you are entering the correct commands (putting spaces where they need to be, etc.) and you are spelling everything correctly. If you have experience with Linux commands/shell you should figure out how to execute the commands.

    Good luck. :)
  3. kelimandya
    Offline

    kelimandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There in lies the problem, i'm afraid my experience with Linux/unix commands are basically nill. All signs point to busybox being inexplicably not installed..what can I do from here? Busybox is installed on some level since ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp
    Tells me that "link failed file exists". I've basically exhausted my knowledge as it stands, what do I do from here?
  4. Dave Droid
    Offline

    Dave Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    Ok, well I'm going to point you to a thread where you simply follow the steps and you will get everything you need to install BusyBox and everything. It tells you step by step and this is what I used and I was able to get Metamorph working.

    First of all, restore your phone back to stock using this thread:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...st-way-get-back-stock-no-root-no-busybox.html

    And then follow this guide (it is step by step and is VERY easy to follow):
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...step-step-no-adb-involved-noob-challenge.html

    That's the best I can give you as I do not know how to install BusyBox - standalone.

    Good luck and let me know of any problems that arise.
  5. kelimandya
    Offline

    kelimandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before I go any farther, thank you so much for the help! i didn't think anyone would reply at first. I followed your links to the letter and succeeded in installing Sholes, however.. you guessed it busybox continues to evade me, i've uninstalled/reinstalled it and rebooted several times with no luck.
  6. Dave Droid
    Offline

    Dave Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    Ok, run this command first in the Terminal Emulator application (download from the market if you haven't already):

    Code:
    su
    busybox
    If it gives information about BusyBox you have BusyBox installed. If not, reply back telling me what it says.
  7. kelimandya
    Offline

    kelimandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It returned a list of clearly defined functions, so I would suppose that it's installed.
  8. Dave Droid
    Offline

    Dave Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    Yes it is installed. That's a good sign.

    OK I am going to give you a few more commands and this should solve the problem:

    Code:
    su
    ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp
    Then run Metamorph.

    Hope this helps.
  9. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had the same problem. I uninstalled metamorph and ran the command prompts. Then rebooted with droid root helper (im pretty sure thats the right name) re-installed metamorph, then it said i needed andexplorer (im pretty sure thats the right name) and it worked like a charm. im installing the theme now. sorry about specific names, but its loading the themes now, i cant check unfortunately...
  10. jjv
    Offline

    jjv New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks man!. I had the same problem and your commands work.. appreciate it!
  11. Dave Droid
    Offline

    Dave Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    Sure. No problem.

    Hope it all worked out for the starter of the thread too.:icon_ banana:
  12. MrCapcom
    Offline

    MrCapcom New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Had the same problem and this worked for me thanks :)
  13. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    this tells me that the
    Code:
    link failed Read-only file system
    Any thoughts
  14. jkennebeck
    Offline

    jkennebeck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump last message. same issue here after putting a new ROM on (GDA13 Pete Alfonso)
Search tags for this page
busybox installed but metamorph isn't working
,
metamorph busybox error
,

metamorph busybox not installed

,
metamorph busybox not installed problem
,

metamorph says busybox is not installed

,
step by step process of using busybox for droid razr
,
why does metamorph say busybox isnt installed