messed up rom update, how do I get back to something useable

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by tacojohn48, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. tacojohn48

    tacojohn48 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed cyanongen's 5.0.4 and everything was ok. I tried to update to 5.0.5 and most of my apps disappeared. I do have a backup from nandroid, from stock, but can't figure out how to restore to it. I have tried selecting nandroid from the clockworkmod recovery 1.7.5 but it tells me that it couldn't open directory. no files found. Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    If you use nandroid, it will wipe your current ROM and replace with whatever you backed up.

    In addition, if you made the backup with sprecovery, clockwork cannot use it.

    Whats yuour issue with 5.0.5? Missing google apps?
     
  3. tacojohn48

    tacojohn48 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    missing google apps as well as others. I had to reinstall dmupdater.
     
  4. johall07

    johall07 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when you installed 5.0.5 did you use ROM manager and if so did you check off clear cache when updating cause that would clear off everything you had before
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I hate to knock on someone's work but I would ditch clockwork and cyanogen, at least for a little while. I have seen a crazy amout of issues with it on here lately. I hope you can get things working again. If you have a good nandroid back up just run dmupdater to get sprecovery back and run the nandroid. Just remember to wipe data and cache just to be safe.
     
  6. tacojohn48

    tacojohn48 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not clear the cache when I did the update, but once it messed up I figured I just needed to clear the cache, so I tried it that way afterward. At this point I would just like to get back to stock and start over.
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Run the dmupdater and it'll get you back to stock quickly.
     
  8. tacojohn48

    tacojohn48 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @jstafford1 I have dm updater, but where do I find sprecovery?

    edit - when trying to flash the rom I get an error and it says permission denied
     
  9. johall07

    johall07 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just download dmupdater and follow the instructions

    and idk what problems you have seen with clockwork/cyanogen cause BD is now using clockwork and the new 5.0.5. cyanogen rom is awesome (i use UD and cyanogen) clockwork is much better than sprecovery
     
  10. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    :icon_eek:

    Most of the problems are people not paying attention or reading up before installing a ROM.

    The previous Clockwork issues seem to be behind us now, and its got some dang impressive features now.
     
  11. johall07

    johall07 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it should have an option to flash recovery or flash sprecovery

    oh and btw thats not like two different options i just dont know how its labeled in the app
     
  12. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I might have to check that out. I tried UD a couple times but it would hang alot when going from landscape to portait. I like to change things up every now and then anyways. I've ran at least 1 version of all the ROMs here, but never tried koush's.