Memory speed issue on the Droid?

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by Elysian, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    I loaded UD1.0 on my phone earlier, and immediately went to Quadrant to see how it does... My score went down a touch, but the interesting thing is the reason why... The CPU score is up, quite a bit actually, a good 400 points, 3D is also up. The kicker is, the memory score has been split in half... I've tried 4 different kernels, tried with compcache off and on, tried my old kernel(which I used in my previous Quadrant attempts), and nothing has changed it, which leads me to believe it's an issue with the ROM... Heres some screenshots, the most recent Quadrant is the first image, the old high score on the second. My OG Droid is clocked at 1.1ghz for both of these, I believe the 1521 was done on UD7, the kernel was the ChevyNo1 LV 1.1ghz kernel... Running the Sholes kernel for the most recent screenshot.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Ideas?
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2010
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could be some sort of difference between FRG22-based ROMs and FRG83-based ROMs. Things like this show why synthetic benchmarks are somewhat less than useful.

    BTW, how do you get Quadrant to break down the scores with the color-coding? Mine just shows an overall score.

    Edit: Nevermind, just realized that I need the paid version to break the scores down
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2010
  3. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    I think it's a good enough measure to tell if there is anything in the system not acting properly, like the memory controller in this instance... Comparing sythetic benchmarks to other phones doesn't really tell the whole story, for sure.
  4. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The thing is, it's only useful for that purpose with an established baseline. For example, an FRG22D based ROM runs at X speed with Y kernel. If I flash Z kernel, I can tell whether it's faster or slower.

    However, in this case we're comparing what is likely FRG22D based with UD1.0.0 which is FRG83. So it's a bit hard to extract meaningful data.

    I use it to check for stability. If a given OC causes an FC issue, freezes the phone, or initiates a sudden reboot; I figure it's overclocked too highly.
  5. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    The issue with this train of thought is that memory bandwidth should not change, unless there is an issue. It especially shouldn't be halved, this is hardware we're talking about after all. I did not experience this sort of issue with UD8, the benchmarks were consistent with my UD7 benches, so an issue has definitely arisen. I just happened to screenshot my UD7 results and not my UD8, since there was no issue.
  6. haledroid
    Offline

    haledroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been running ud roms since 2.1, this is by far the best one out of all. Battery life has improved, everything runs smooth. Im using the 1ghz kernel by slayer, compcache enabled and cpu set at 900mhz. Quadrant can suck my left nut. This is a great rom!

    Sent from my Ultimate Droid 1.0.0 Revolution Theme Luigi90210 using Tapatalk
  7. haledroid
    Offline

    haledroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To add you should disable compcache and run another benchmark. I doubt quadrant is setup to understand how compcache handles system memory. Also read up on compcache. You'll find your answer.

    Sent from my Ultimate Droid 1.0.0 Revolution Theme Luigi90210 using Tapatalk
  8. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Like I said in the OP, I tried with and without compcache enabled, as well as a kernel that doesn't even support compcache. No difference.

    I also don't know why you're assuming I'm knocking the rom? It's good, sure, but if I've found a legitimate issue, it could very well be even better.
  9. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess what I am saying is that we're talking about using SOFTWARE to measure the performance of the HARDWARE. Perhaps there is something different in FRG83 that causes the SOFTWARE to incorrectly report the performance of the HARDWARE.

    In other words, i'm not saying something changed between FRG22D and FRG83 to make the hardware physically underperform; rather that something in FRG83 is causing the Quadrant app to incorrectly measure that particular portion of the benchmark score. I'm basically thinking that Quadrant is somewhat incompatible with this particular build.

    If UD1.0.0 was truly halving memory performance, i'm thinking it would be noticable in circumstances other than just while running Quadrant. I haven't noticed any other apps underperforming at all.
  10. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    xScope 6 has been running pretty terribly for me since moving to 1.0, noticed that last night while I was out.
  11. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Loaded UD8 back on here, and using the same kernel as the UD1 Quadrant screenshot, the memory benchmark score has doubled... There is obviously an issue...

    [​IMG]
  12. luigi90210
    Offline

    luigi90210 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im also getting the same memory issue
  13. Elysian
    Offline

    Elysian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    UD 2.0 fixes the memory bandwidth issue, glad I can move on past UD8 :)
  14. Lars1
    Offline

    Lars1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Good news!