Memory Issue

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dispatcher0531, May 6, 2010.

  1. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all, and first of all, let me apologize for asking this as I have read quite a few posts about this already....I just got a Motorola Droid and I keep getting a system notification that my available memory is below 15%...Does the Android operating system automatically close apps that arent in use? Do I need another app such as app killer to do this for me? Is there something that I am doing wrong? Thanks in advance, and again, I'm sorry if this seems redundant.

    Suzannedancedroid
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you downloaded a lot of apps? Go to settings>sd card & phone storage, and how much available space does it say you have?
     
  3. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 2gb card in this phone and it says that I have almost 1.8gb free...for some reason I dont think that thing I am downloading are going to the sd card? is there some way to change that and would that affect my memory issues?
     
  4. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do downloaded apps run off internal memory or sd card?
     
  5. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Motorola Droids come with a 16GB sd card. And apps don't go to the sd card, you would have to be rooted and have a ROM that is compatible with apps2sd for that. What does it say your space available for "internal phone storage"?
     
  6. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was a courtesy upgrade given to me by Verizon, and it came with no card in it at all, I had to install my own, which all I had was a 2gb from my Blackberry. It says my internal memory is 223 mb.
     
  7. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, ok I see. Well if it says you have 223mb, you have plenty for downloading apps. When is this message prompting you?
     
  8. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really cant put my finger on a specifc time....it is a very random thing when the message comes up....then i go into my system settings and pull up my cpu usage and memory usage and it is about 85% used.
     
  9. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is odd, I've never had this message, the Android OS is supposed to handle these things. Have you tried a factory reset?
     
  10. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, considering that I just got it 2 days ago, should I have to do a reset?
     
  11. Vitticeps

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read that clearing your gmail cache has corrected this sort of thing.

    menu>settings>applications>manage applications>menu>filter>all>Gmail>clear data

    do the same thing for Gmail Storage. After doing it you email settings will go back to default and you emails will be re-synced and downloaded again.

    Could also try clearing the browser cache and market cache using the same technique.

    I guess the theory is a file or files can get corrupted and/or bloated and consume unnecessary space and resources.

    If you've installed a lot of applications already then it's possible one of them is the culprit as well. Might be worth uninstalling anything you can live without and slowly add 'em back till you can narrow down what is causing it. Paid apps can still be reinstalled if you uninstall them, fyi.
     
  12. dispatcher0531

    dispatcher0531 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cattaraugus, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I've done that, and right now my system memory is still almost pegged at 80% continually..........I dont know what to do...