Media Server Entry in Battery Use List

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by LuN3yDaV3, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Today I was looking at what was using up my battery. There was an entry in the Settings > About Phone > Battery use that read "Media Server" that had the same icon as Android System. It was using 18% of the battery. I closed everything in Task Killer that I don't normally use and it was still there. I rebooted the phone and it was gone. Anyone seen this and/or know what this is?
     
  2. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 18% means that it HAS been using 18% of the totally battery consumption since the phone was last plugged in or restarted so killing all applications at that time will not have changed that number.

    I suspect its a music player that was causing that.
     
  3. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing I just thought of.....

    I was at work and my wifi was on. Do you think it connected to some open wifi computer and was listing itself as a media server?
     
  4. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I do know that much, that it was using 18% of the battery but was wondering why there was an entry for Media Server instead of Android System.
     
  5. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well there is a Media Server process...

    Let me see if I can pull up something on it.
     
  6. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I started all the media apps I have and even installed twonkyserver and was streaming media to my Windows 7 laptop. This still didn't trigger the mediaserver process to show up. It must have been something strange with my wifi and a media app running at work. I will see tomorrow if I can reproduce the "problem"
     
  7. Raeuber

    Raeuber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same service running today and it was using 38% of my battery. Actually it ran my battery down in about 4 hours. My wifi was not enabled, but I was using Pandora, but that had its own entry in the list with only 3% battery use. Could this be the service needed to run any multimedia app?
     
  8. Istus

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using Pandora at all?
     
  9. Raeuber

    Raeuber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^ me? Yes.
    Thats why I figured it had something to do with the media system in general.
    If you weren't asking me, sorry :)
     
  10. Istus

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry no, it was for the OP. I just noticed you mentioned Pandora in your reply. Damn my poor scanning skills. :)
     
  11. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still having this mediaserver process show up on my Droid. Now that I'm rooted I can see it in OS Monitor app using 90% cpu and my phone is fairly warm on the back. I can't kill it from OS Monitor either. It's showing as /system/bin/mediaserver PID 1083. Anyone know how to fix this? I'm not running anything related to media in case you're wondering.
     
  12. IReallyWantADroid

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im having the same problem with mediaserver showing up. Any idea how to fix it?
     
Search tags for this page
android battery media server
,
android battery usage media
,

android media server battery

,
android media server battery usage
,

android media server battery use

,
android mediaserver battery use
,

android mediaserver using battery

,
android medya sunucusu
,
media server android battery
,
media server battery android