Media Server Entry in Battery Use List

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by LuN3yDaV3, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Today I was looking at what was using up my battery. There was an entry in the Settings > About Phone > Battery use that read "Media Server" that had the same icon as Android System. It was using 18% of the battery. I closed everything in Task Killer that I don't normally use and it was still there. I rebooted the phone and it was gone. Anyone seen this and/or know what this is?
  2. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The 18% means that it HAS been using 18% of the totally battery consumption since the phone was last plugged in or restarted so killing all applications at that time will not have changed that number.

    I suspect its a music player that was causing that.
  3. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing I just thought of.....

    I was at work and my wifi was on. Do you think it connected to some open wifi computer and was listing itself as a media server?
  4. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I do know that much, that it was using 18% of the battery but was wondering why there was an entry for Media Server instead of Android System.
  5. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Well there is a Media Server process...

    Let me see if I can pull up something on it.
  6. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I started all the media apps I have and even installed twonkyserver and was streaming media to my Windows 7 laptop. This still didn't trigger the mediaserver process to show up. It must have been something strange with my wifi and a media app running at work. I will see tomorrow if I can reproduce the "problem"
  7. Raeuber
    Offline

    Raeuber New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same service running today and it was using 38% of my battery. Actually it ran my battery down in about 4 hours. My wifi was not enabled, but I was using Pandora, but that had its own entry in the list with only 3% battery use. Could this be the service needed to run any multimedia app?
  8. Istus
    Offline

    Istus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Are you using Pandora at all?
  9. Raeuber
    Offline

    Raeuber New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ me? Yes.
    Thats why I figured it had something to do with the media system in general.
    If you weren't asking me, sorry :)
  10. Istus
    Offline

    Istus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Sorry no, it was for the OP. I just noticed you mentioned Pandora in your reply. Damn my poor scanning skills. :)
  11. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still having this mediaserver process show up on my Droid. Now that I'm rooted I can see it in OS Monitor app using 90% cpu and my phone is fairly warm on the back. I can't kill it from OS Monitor either. It's showing as /system/bin/mediaserver PID 1083. Anyone know how to fix this? I'm not running anything related to media in case you're wondering.
  12. IReallyWantADroid
    Offline

    IReallyWantADroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im having the same problem with mediaserver showing up. Any idea how to fix it?
  13. webvan
    Offline

    webvan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another "same here", problem appeared today after I used UPnPlay and it crashed a few times...will keep an eye on it.
  14. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    No one knows huh? i'm starting to notice a similar things happening on my phone from time to time. It can use up to 93% of my cpu. crazy. most times I have to restart, sometimes I can kill the process. Droid2
  15. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    417
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I just updated Kid Mode Saturday and mine started showing up as well. I've had it on there for a couple months and use it heavily and it's never shown up before. I've also noticed a battery life decrease lately as well, but only when using anything internet related , including the above mentioned app .I can watch my battery drop while using YouTube, Kid Mode, etc whereas it was no where near as bad before.
  16. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    I don't have that program, but I think t covers a various programs that play music and maybe more. I use OS monitor to kill it. Its restarts as its a systems service, but killing it causes it to restart and stops it from doing whatever its doing that consumes so much CPU time. Sometimes it'll happen once a day, sometimes 3-5. I use a program called music 2, meridian, google listen, and of course the default music player is on the phone as well. Maybe there will be some pattern to installed programs, phones or OS versions....
  17. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    417
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I'm not sure but I think the combination of Kid Mode and the Power Amp music player app . It has a setting to start playing music when I plug in my headphones so it was always running more than just minimum.I deleted it after it deleted all my playlists for the third time and the Media Server has disappeared back into less than 2% usage land and my battery life has gotten better

    Support Our Troops!! UltraKeyboarded from a wifi monolith.
  18. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Well, if thats the case then you have may have a different issue> i don't have either one of those programs installed. And unless your actually using a program that ties into that process, it shouldn't be showing any usage at all.
Search tags for this page
android battery media
,
android battery media server
,
android battery usage media
,
android media battery
,

android media server battery

,
android media server battery usage
,

android media server battery use

,
android mediaserver battery use
,

android mediaserver using battery

,
android medya sunucusu
,
media server android battery
,
media server android battery use
,
media server battery android
,
media server using battery
,
stop media server android