Maybe the Tegra 2 doesn't really play nice with LTE

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Arkbird, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Motorola had to change the Bionic's processor and now they just announced the Photon 4G which seems pretty similar to the Bionic except a Tegra 2 with WiMax instead of LTE. Same qHD display at 4.3", 8 mp camera (starting to seem familiar?) with no hump, vga FF camera.

    So I'm guessing Moto really did have trouble with the Bionic and Tegra 2....no wonder it's been delayed.

    Motorola's 4.3-inch Photon 4G brings Tegra 2, kickstand magic to Sprint (video hands-on) -- Engadget
  2. JerseyFirefighter
    Offline

    JerseyFirefighter New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but nvidia said it wasnt their fault... Why would any corporation lie to consumers:icon_ devil:
  3. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Hahahaha It's never compant's fault in business. They don't know who's fault it is but it's not theirs.
  4. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yeah, that's been talked about for quite awhile. Nvidia says it's not their chip, as is evidenced by the upcoming LTE version of the Galaxy Tab 10.1. But clearly Motorola has issues with it. The Xoom is the prime example of that. It was supposed to have LTE already, but it doesn't, and the time frame for it's upgrade is the same as the launch of the redesigned Bionic - summer.

    Between the Bionic and the Xoom, there's clearly some sort of issue that Motorola has had with LTE and the Tegra 2.

    ...and the Phonton has global GSM capabilities? Dang, if the Bionic were to drop with that I'd have to totally rethink my planned purchase of a Droid 3 this month.
  5. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Well it's not just Moto. Verizon stopped the preorders for the galaxy tab with lte too so it may have something to do with the tegra 2 and LTE. It would be nice if the. Bionic had that too. Personally I wouldn't use it since I think it's too expensive to use my cell out of the country but I guess it's nice for people who travel a lot. And the Droid 3 is going to be global?
  6. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    It's not expensive if you get the SIM slot unlocked and use local SIM cards from the places you travel to. It's dirt cheap actually. That's what I do with my Droid Pro. Now if you use the pre-installed Verizon SIM card internationally, you'll be paying an arm and a leg. Unless you have to keep the same number where ever you go, the smart thing to do is use local SIM cards. I'm required to travel internationally, so GSM capabilities are of the utmost importance for me.

    There hasn't been any official information or leaks about it, but according to trusted insiders, the Droid 3 is supposed to be global.
  7. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Okay that's nice then. My Canadian friend told me something like that when it comes to his phone.
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  8. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I find it hard to believe a chipset wouldn't play nice with a radio! It makes no sense because they aren't really related in anyway unless the chip has to process the radio signals or something weird.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  9. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    I honestly have no idea either but that's what we're hearing. I don't know how the inter-workings of a cell phone works but Motorola probably had a good reason for changing it. This delay could potentially cost them money so they must think that the benefits of changing the device, outweigh potential losses of having a phone that handles less than expected.
  10. tekhinator
    Offline

    tekhinator New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I just want the bionic out already. But if its taking time to fix it then I also hope they use the time to improve the rest of the specs.

    Sent from my Fascination using DForums