[ROM] Maverick Rom for the Droid 3 (MavROM) - V4.5

Discussion in 'Maverick ROM D3' started by pedwards3x, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. Doubleyoupee

    Doubleyoupee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need root
     
  2. doogald

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Right, you have to be already rooted in order to run the Safestrap app to install the bootstrap and recovery.

    You can root using Dan Rosenberg's Motofail method: Security Research by Dan Rosenberg

    Make sure that you have the Maverick zip file (not unzipped) on an SD card or on internal storage
    So, use Motofail to root the phone.
    Run the Safestrap app to install the Recovery
    Restart the phone - it should prompt you to press Menu to start Recovery
    After Recovery starts, do a backup of the phone before you do anything else
    Use the safe menu to enable the safe system
    Install a zip file from the SD card, and choose the Maverick ROM
    Wipe data/factory reset
    Reboot
     
  3. chris111690

    chris111690 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW thanks so much. Worked like a top as they say.
    I knew that I needed root, but couldent get the one click root tool to work. it would say that it completed but would never transfer the files over to the device (superuser.apk, etc...) Thanks for the new exploit.:hail::hail:

    In your opinion is this one of the best roms (to date) for the droid 3?
     
  4. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    I switch between Steel Droid ICS and Mav v4.5, both are solid Roms. Mav gets better battery life and everything works (SD ICS has the known D3 issues atm).

    It really comes down to personal preference and what you need.

    Butt-Dialed from my Hamburger Phone
     
  5. katobugs

    katobugs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    First I would like to say I googled this and searched this thread for my problem before posting this :)

    K so here's my problem, hopefully someone can help....

    K so I have hashcodes safestrap installed 2.10 I believe, and Mavrom 4.5.

    So I flash Mavrom 4.5 using safestrap (factory reset/wipedata, flash Mavrom 4.5, then factory/wipe data)
    now the problem comes after I do all this, if I let my battery drain all the way or do a reboot without shutting the phone off then physcially turning it back on the phone will reboot back into stock mode but keep all my settings as tho it was still in Mavrom 4.5 but all traces of Mavrom will be gone. I don't know if im not factory resetting enough times or what im doing wrong...oh also it happens if im oc to 1.1 or 1.2ghz or even not oc'd.

    If anyone has any insight into this I would greatly appreciate you help :). In the meantime titanium backup will continue to be my best friend. Thank you for reading
     
  6. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    katobugs, check your safstrap version again. Make sure that you have 2.10 not 2.01. What you are experiencing sounds like the issue .01 was having (are you connected to power when you do this?)

    If you are on 2.10, lemme know and we'll see what we can figure out.
     
  7. snarlytaz

    snarlytaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sir Buckmarble! (Bow... Bow... Kneel...) Mavrom has been my favorite for some time and it's always the primary rom on my D3. When using the OC feature though in 4.5, I too experienced random reboots, or reboots at nasty times when a phone call started to come in. But I've fixed that, at least for me - I don't know if others looked at this or if a possible resolution has been posted here yet, but here goes...

    Looking at the .d scripts, I see that you've included the GPU OC too? I learned something about my own D3 device while working with my own rom build (newbie yet) with overclocking that helped me out with MavROM 4.5.

    I can OC this device stable to 1.2 (and probably can push 1.3) - as long as I don't OC the GPU also. Once I start OC'ing the GPU at the same time, I start encountering those random reboots or shutdowns - as well as some heat. I can OC the GPU fine if I trade off to a lower CPU OC. I've edited the .d script to comment out the GPU OC in MavROM, leaving the 1.2 CPU OC and I run a lot more stable now without reboots or odd slowdowns (and cooler even). The CPU OC definately gives me greater performance, the GPU - doesn't actually do much for me (but that's me).

    In your next toolbox version, can you add a couple scripts for the OC options with / or without / GPU OC?
     
  8. buckmarble

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +69
    Excellent idea. Will definitely keep that in mind!
     
  9. katobugs

    katobugs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    i just double checked it was 2.01 (was on my phone while posting before) i will get 2.10 and see if that fixes it thank you for the respond. also no im not connected to power when i do this
     
  10. katobugs

    katobugs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    just go 2.10 finally and that seemed to fix my problem thank you very much!
     
  11. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    you're welcome. glad to hear it worked :biggrin:
     
  12. nikesfr

    nikesfr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    france
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. SolidMGSnake

    SolidMGSnake New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant seem to sign into my google account after flashing this. Gives me wrong username and pass when I know its right. This is my first time flashing a rom btw. Soo not sure if I did anything wrong.

    Update: I fixed it. Had to turn the 2-step verification off on my google acnt. Cant wait to have fun with this. My D3 has been slow as hell so I decided it was time flash a good rom. I was really shocked and impressed how fast boot times are and overall speed of the phone. thx for this ROM. Its lookin great so far. Just too bad the themes dont work.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  14. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Themes work, you just have to flash them manually

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk
     
  15. SolidMGSnake

    SolidMGSnake New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thx that worked.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 maverick 4.5
,
droid 3 maverick rom
,
droid 3 mavrom
,
droid 3 mavrom 4.5
,
maverick 4.5
,
maverick rom 4.5
,

maverick rom droid 3

,

mavrom

,
mavrom 4.5 themes
,
mavrom droid 3