MattyP's .215 Leak Classroom

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by MattyP, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. sakana

    sakana Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks. I've done it a couple times already just not since I rooted so I wasn't sure if my root would be affected at all.
     
  2. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for the basic instructions. This was the first time for me doing something like this.
     
  3. ck3jr

    ck3jr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would really like to try this update but sortta got mixed feelings of doing anything to my phone right now.. I rooted my phone a week and half ago and everything went just great, installed some great apps that needed root to install, Ti backup for one. Monday I noticed my 4g was not staying lock on and killing my battery and by the end of the day no 4 g at all. Called verizon just to make sure nothing had been changed and everything was by the book according to big red. I had to revert back to stock and send the phone off for a replacement and that is where I am now. So with all that said what should I do? Install leak? root again? Just dont feel like sending another phone back:blink:
     
  4. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Quick question. Now that I am running the .215 leak. When the next OTA update comes out can I just update or will I need to go back to .211?
     
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Speculation was that yes, you could but I don't think anyone knows for certain, especially if the next update is jellybean instead of the anticipated ICS update. There is a proven simple way to go back to .211 so you are still safe.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  6. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Really hoping for some JB goodness. I run JB on my Xoom tablet and love it, really want it on the phone.
     
  7. eek88dj

    eek88dj Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    215 didnt help me at all. It gave me google chrome but still have a weak signal of two bars for data. The tower just less than one mile from the house. When i had the bionic i had full signal but not on razor maxx it don't make no sense. I tried everything possible from sim card and hard reset still weak signal. Bionic had all bars this Maxx don't. I still live in same place lol:angry:
     
  8. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    eek, do you have it set to LTE/CDMA in your settings (instead of global data)? That makes a big difference. Most, if they have done an fdr and set it to LTE/CDMA, are not having a problem with data signal on ICS.
     
  9. pelicanbill

    pelicanbill New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    on a canal narrowboat somewhere in England
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi and sorry but it would seem I'm a failure! ..... that having got myself prepared to do the 215 update, I downloads the file for my phone - the one for unrooted phone and ics version 4.0.4 - I moved the file to external sd card and turned off the phone. Upon starting and following instructions, I get all the way into upgrading only it won't go past validating the downloaded blur file and aborts. I have returned, deleted download from sd card and phone. I re downloaded the necessary file and repeated the start up process only to find it aborts at same position in the verification stage. Please advise further.

    Cheers!

    PS: when looking in the about section, there is no mention of any version numbers just says it is 4.0.4
     
  10. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    If you have Verizon, have you tried dialing *228...then select Option 2. The IT dept at my work suggested this when I had a weak signal on my last work phone and it helped. They recommended doing it once every 2 months. It updates your coverage as Verizon adds more towers and updates their network.
     
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Have you tried *228 on your Razr Maxx redskn. From what I've read, you can not use *228 on phones that use a sim card. I have also read that it can ruin your phone but I really can't understand how that would happen.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  12. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    No I used to do it every month on my Droid 2. I have not tried it on the Razr Maxx yet.
     
  13. bruben7886

    bruben7886 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yup. I also read that the *228 may fry a sim card. LTE phones activate themselves on power on. If you tried 228 and believe you have a prob go to Verizon for a free replacement card.
     
  14. connexus

    connexus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't trust the Razr Maxx signal strength display

    I too have a Razr Maxx and I live less than a mile from my cell tower, but in what Verizon now calls a "variable signal area" - which means we get crappy signal (often 1X) most of the time if we're lucky. Distance from the tower is only part of the signal strength equation. The .215 upgrade did not impact my signal strength at all.

    When I got my Razr Maxx, it too showed less signal bars than my previous phone and I was concerned. By checking the signal strength values in settings, I discovered that the bars my Maxx showed did not agree with the signal strength numbers. I think it's a problem with at least some of the Razr Maxx's. (Check signal strength by going to system settings -> about phone -> status -> network type and strength.) As a workaround, I installed the Signal Notification app (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.logicmonkey.signalnotify), which can display the real signal strength as a numeric value in your status bar. That way I know the real signal strength, not just the inaccurate bars readout.

    Also, Rootmetrics (RootMetrics | Measuring mobile performance for you, and with you) provides a great tool for collecting signal strength information and uses it to create a database that lets folks see the real signal data in areas where data has been collected. It shows clearly how often the carriers lie about coverage, but that's another conversation.

    The problem may be your particular phone set getting worse reception, but it could just be its signal bars lying to you. Hopefully I have given you some tools to figure that out.
     
  15. joshxdroid

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +55
    From what a understand ICS sites less bars than gingerbread with the same signal. That definitely happened on mine when i got the update
     
Search tags for this page
.215 razr leak
,
.215 leak
,
.215
,
215 leak
,
blur version.6.16.211.xt912.verizon.en.us
,

blur version.6.16.211.xt912.verizon.en.us.zip

,
blur version.6.16.211.xt912.verizon.en.us.zip download
,
mattyp 215 leak
,
mattyp's .215 leak
,
mattyp's .215 leak classroom