Marketplace oddities?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Dan.Droid, May 15, 2010.

  1. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My brother and I both have a Moto Droid, and we're sitting here talking and sharing apps we found. He found an app that, when I do a search for it in marketplace, doesn't come up.

    I can see the search result on his screen, and I use the exact same search string he does, and don't come up with half the list he got.

    My Droid is older, from launch, and his is only 3 days old, if that matters.

    Is there an option some where that is restricting my searches? He says he hasn't changed anything for settings.
     
  2. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have 2.01

    He has 2.1

    Compare "about phone" in settings
     
  3. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    We both have 2.1-update1.
     
  4. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hrm, same roms?

    Market might not recognize your phone as 2.1.
    Can you see any lwp's? ie "pongur"
     
  5. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done several searches for lwp's and have several running. I did a search for Pongur, since you specifically mentioned it, and it comes up quickly.
     
  6. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is odd. What is the search term that comes up with nothing for you?
     
  7. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    He found a lwp that was the Droid Eye, so I did a search for that. I got a list of stuff, but it was about a third of the list he got, and the specific lwp he found wasn't listed. So, I did a search for Droid Eye Lite, which was the name of the actual lwp, and absolutely nothing came up.
     
  8. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,422
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +205
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    You sure its not Droid eye live and not lite?
     
  9. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. Droid Eye Live is a paid lwp, and red. The one he found is free and blue.
     
  10. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,422
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +205
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Weird I dont get it either..
     
  11. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    also dont get it
     
  12. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll go into a Verizon store Monday and see if they can figure something out. Thanks for trying.
     
  13. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Report back

    Im interested in this
     
  14. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was a known issue after the 2.1 update, with Google Earth and a few LWP, a known fix would be doing a factory reset, that has helped some people.
     
  15. Dan.Droid

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke with a couple reps for Verizon today. The guy I was talking to in person admitted to not knowing, which I can respect, so he called what I assume was a Verizon tech center on the phone.

    The person on the phone was clearly reading from a script because she said the problem was 'the google', which made me chuckle slightly.

    But yeah. What JCo352 said was pretty much what script-lady said. The first thing then want to do is a factory reset, though they're not sure that will actually fix the issue. They may have to send me a new phone. I'm currently dumping all the data from my phone to my lappy that I can (pics, videos, .apk's from appsaver, etc.) because the only ones that they say will reappear for me automatically are the ones that I paid for.

    And she wasn't even sure about that.