Market with Google Apps

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by gocs, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. gocs

    gocs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    I use Google Apps as my account on my DROIDX. I went to buy an application and I got an error that my account does not support Google Checkout. Anyone know what is up with that and have any solutions to offer? TIA.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Seems very odd. Have you looked at your Google account to verify that everything is correct especially the credit card info and date.
     
  3. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Or asked Google?
     
  4. gocs

    gocs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is part of what is so strange. I have used Google Checkout for other things with no issues. Haven't checked with Google yet.... will have to do that in the morning I guess.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you look at your Google Checkout settings? Getting in touch the Google is often challenging.
     
  6. gocs

    gocs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, and I have checked the settings. Not that there are that many. But the credit card is unexpired ans everything else looks fine.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Does it display your purchase history and are all of your past purchases displayed?
     
  8. gocs

    gocs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. And a quick review of the web shows several have had this problem. Suggested solutions include doing a factory reset on the phone. Found that last night after posting, but would still like a less drastic solution...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    It might be possible that if the app is in another currency your bank may not support it, though I really kind of doubt that's what's going on. If it is in another currency, double check with the bank.
     
  10. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hookbill never sleeps!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'd clear market cache first. If that does not correct then do the factory reset but that seem rather dramatice to me.

    Mike
     
  12. gocs

    gocs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the Google help is repleat with descriptions of this problem. I did do a factory reset (ugh) as a last resort, but it did not help. My Google Apps is not converted because I use Voice.

    Wound up creating a new Google ID for my app purchases. Less than elegant, but functional.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  13. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks for the update, gocs. The resolution is definitely less than elegant. Hopefully, you posted your experience on the Google and/or other sites.

    Mike