Market problems

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by DrDiff, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. DrDiff
    Offline

    DrDiff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 3 apps stuck in download. They never install. The Droid constantly tries to download them killing battery life. I'm running Lithium Mod and used to get 26-28 hours on a charge. Now I struggle to get 14 hours. Is there a way to reset the market?

    Sent from my Rooted Moto Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Try clearing the cache of your market app.
     
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    As Mike says, clear cache and data as well. settings/applications/manage applications/all applications/market. Clear cache and data.
     
  4. DrDiff
    Offline

    DrDiff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help guys. Cleared the cache and data. The stuck downloads finished and installed. Much Better!
     
  5. catfang
    Offline

    catfang New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    clearing cache and data helped me as well. Thanks everyone.
     
  6. dmcwethy
    Offline

    dmcwethy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem, sticks on install OR uninstall.

    Settings/applications/manage/all apps/market continuously shows 'computing...', as do all other apps

    In both Market and Market Updater, option to force close is not available (not lit up). Will clear data (with warning, then dims), but though available (lit up), clearing cache does nothing...button stays lit.

    As noted above also hangs on uninstalling apps.

    Motodroid, cyanogenmod 6.1 rc4. Was the same on rc3 and rc2. Same install/uninstall problem with Onix and Lithium roms when tried to cure with change of rom, always clearing cache n data. I'm puzzled!
     
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm puzzled as well. I checked the settings, apps on my Droid. I do see anything about computing. Did you have this issue prior to installing your current rom?
     
  8. dmcwethy
    Offline

    dmcwethy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cyanogenmod 6.1 rc4. Was the same on rc3 and rc2. Same install/uninstall problem with Onix and Lithium ROMs when tried to cure with change of ROM, always clearing cache n data.

    So, same install or uninstall problem with various ROMs
     
  9. llstovall
    Offline

    llstovall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem and after trying all the solutions others had success with, I was finally able to resolve the issue by removing the SD card.
     
  10. dmcwethy
    Offline

    dmcwethy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried removing the SD card and reinstalling, rebooted, but no luck.

    Did you reformat SD card, or just remove and put back? What ROM were you using at the time?
     
  11. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    Unless you have apps stored on the SD card the rom does not use the SD card, I've always wondered why removing the SD card solves any issue.
     
  12. llstovall
    Offline

    llstovall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just removing the card did the trick for me. I just have the standard setup for droid 2.
     
  13. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I believe you! I've not spent any time with a Droid 2 so I wonder if the Blur has something to do with it.
     
  14. dmcwethy
    Offline

    dmcwethy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to re-install froyo ota? Is this a way to get my Market working again?

    I've tried clearing cache by changing ROM, but no joy

    I'm using FRG22D and would rather reinstall and have to re-root than have inability to install and uninstall apps. If recommended, where to download, how to do it?
     
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think I've already seem this similar post somewhere else, but anyways. Go to my guides link below and then look for the 'unroot without RSD Lite guide" in my advanced guides section. Should do everything you have asked for here.

    As for general market problems. Please. Realize that the Android market is hosted on google's servers. Realize that google is the biggest website in the world. Realize that google is going to allocate more bandwidth to "google.com" than they will to the android market. Realize that this will cause weird problems for us Android market donwloaders. Realize that this is true 95% of the time. Realize that the other 5% can be fixed by the solution posted in this thread.

    Can we EVER put these 'market problems' threads to rest? I doubt it, but we can always try and hope . . . . . .

    good luck