Market No Workie

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by iamgeniusrnti, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. iamgeniusrnti

    iamgeniusrnti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wipe Installed 5.0 but market won't start.

    People have been reporting this but it seems we're ignoring it... we need the market... we can't just ignore this problem LOL!!! What did you guys do to solve it?!?
     
  2. iamgeniusrnti

    iamgeniusrnti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The way to solve this is to do another wipe, and select which apps to restore. When I did the original install, I used Titanium and did a batch restore of all. This restored data for the market and other apps which I think confused the market app.
     
  3. wierdo124

    wierdo124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted a thread about it too and everyone seems to just be ignoring it. It's obviously affecting some and not others, but either way needs to be fixed.
     
  4. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    I keep telling people the reason they are having problems is because they are lazy (in my opinion), and want to restore all of their apps with restoreapps or tibu.......dont do it.


    plain and simple.

    in recovery.

    1. Wipe data/factory reset
    2. Wipe cache partition
    3. go into partitions menu
    4. format /system
    5. format /boot

    6. flash the rom

    7. reboot

    8. touche the 4 corners of the touch android screen after reboot. Top left, top right, bottom right, bottom left. (this skips the log in)

    9. Open market app

    10. sign into google account.

    11. accept terms.

    12. re-DOWNLOAD all of your apps. Dont use tibu, dont use restore apps...none of that. You are restoring froyo optimized data to gingerbread.


    Froyo to froyo may not have been a big deal, but dont do it to gingerbread. Its like trying to use XP features on windows 7. Aint gonna work.

    If you are using sprecovery or any other recovery, if you cant find similar features to complete steps above. REstore, flash cwm recovery from rom manager (free), then do a quick backup (cause you wont have one if you switch recoveries), then do steps above.

    Ive flashed ss5 no telling how many times in the past week while I was working on my theme...just to test some image changes....etc...and not ONCE did I ever have my market crash.


    If you wipe and install this way, your market will be replaced/updated to 2.3.2 version (which is the latest market version I believe)

    Its not a ROM issue, its user error.
     
  5. iamgeniusrnti

    iamgeniusrnti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You know, if this had a Facebook 'Like' button, I'd click it HAHAHA! Like I said, restaore all did screw me up. But I did find that you can still do a restore on most user apps like Angry Birds! But don't restore anything Google.
     
  6. iamgeniusrnti

    iamgeniusrnti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And hey--lazy is such strong word... how about 'under time constraints'!
     
  7. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    lol...im not targeting anyone...just generalizing. :p.
     
  8. wierdo124

    wierdo124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I fail to see how that would cause the Market to quit working.
     
  9. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    It can - as stated - you are restoring data files for the market that were for Froyo - therefore it leaves open the possibility that it can hose up the market (or ANY app you restore for)
     
Search tags for this page

nook color cm7.2 market keeps crashing