Market Issues

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by DroidBoy22, May 11, 2010.

  1. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having an issue with the market. Whenever I download something from the market, it well repeatedly re-download the app over and over and over, even if the installation was successful. I'm tried Data/Factory resets many times and wiped cache completely so I could start from scratch but I get the same problem every time. This happened when switching from the Cyanogenmod /Jrummy to Bugless ROM. I've been searching all over the forums but I'm just about ready to give up.
     
  2. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    There has to e someone that knows. I'm stumped. Now I can't even connect to the market.
     
  3. Phixyrsion

    Phixyrsion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Okolona, Louisville, KY
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I've seen, everyone seems to be having the same problem. It started for me earlier today. I think it's something on Google's end.
     
  4. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think one of my files may have got messed. I don't know which one or how. I do know that the apps keep downloading themselves and it very irritating. I don't know how to solve this. Could it be the market apk file?
     
  5. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Buuuuuuuuuump! 83 views and only one reply :frown:
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm not sure how to advise. Earlier this morning, the market notified me that I had six updates. Five downloaded without a problem. The maps download was not successful but a second attempt was successful.

    Mike
     
  7. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    I deleted the market updater apk and that seems to have fixed.

    /SOLVED
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If you don't mind sharing-- what were you doing that caused you delete the apk and where did you find the replacement?

    Mike
     
  9. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was switching from Cyanogen to Bugless v1. I couldn't make up my mind between the two so I kept switch back and forth about 5x in one day trying out different things on each ROM and comparing the two. I guess there was a market update or something that must have happened as I was switching over later during the day and the phone didn't like it.
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Interesting! Were you using rom manager to switch roms?
     
  11. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea it was pretty goofy. I wasn't using ROM Manager at the time. I had a back-up of a clean slate Cyanogen ROM and then the kernel, ROM, and Theme for for BB v1. I was using Clock Works recovery at the time, so I didn't need to name everything update.zip. I could pick a zip file straight from the sd card. So i would mess with BB for a bit then when I wanted to switch over, I would just recover Cyanogen.
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Grasping at straws -- I wonder if switching between SPR and rom manager caused the issue?