1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Market issues

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by telex9471, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my market has been weird for sometime now. I launch market then go to "my downloads" and it only shows a few of my apps but many of my installed apps are not listed so I can't get updates when they are out. I had this in SS 4.96 also and all I did was go to manage applications all apps and find the market and clear data and cache and it would come back, but now clear data is gone. Any tips guys?
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Need to know which version of SS you are on now - and I assume it is very well known now that 5.01 had an install issue that could corrupt system data - so if you are past 5.01 and did not wipe, or restored 5.01 data - quite possible that is the problem.
  3. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry I am on 5.1 and I did a Full yakitori wipe :) Thanks Chevy
  4. VingInMedina
    Offline

    VingInMedina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    That is the same problem that I had. Never did figure out how to correct it.

    So, what I ended up doing was downloading all of my apps again from the market. That turned out to not be such a big deal. If you go to the Androidn Market web site you can search for your apps and click on a download link. The app will be sent to your phone. Much easier than searching for each one on the phone.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have seen a full /cache partition cause weird issues - and many times it seems that recovery does not wipe as it says it does - always check for that also (run df command in terminal to see what % cache is at)
  6. soondolee
    Offline

    soondolee New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fix permission might fix the problem
  7. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well so far the temp fix for me was to use Titanium Backup, find market and wipe data and now I have a ton of updates. I don't know if it will stick but we will see. Fixing permissions did not fix this also.

    Chevy my Cache is: 43960 used 50888 available and 46& used.
  8. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks telex - sounds like cache space was not your issue ...
  9. telex9471
    Offline

    telex9471 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so this seems to happen every day so far. Basically when I check my downloads it only shows my purchased apps and that is it. So just now I used TB to clear the market's data and the I re-launched market/downloads and all my apps are back and I have updates to do. Why does the market keep forgetting what is installed? Does it have to do with clearing cache everyday? I don't think it does because there have been times that I have not cleared my cache daily and not noticed this problem.

    -Thanks
  10. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good question - unfortunately this sounds market related so I really do not know ...