MARKET....help me understand, PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by chkmate, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok...the other morning I woke up and my market was changed (updated). As you can tell by my sig, I'm rooted, have a ROM and I'm Theme'd. So how did it update without me excepting an OTA?

    Now...my brother has a Droid X, completely stock and refuses to do anything to it but get OTA's. He didn't know about the update. I just told him to go settings/about phone/system updates and check. He did, his phone updated and his Market is still the old version.

    Someone please help me understand this. I've been around a while if you can tell by my post's, but I just don't understand this.
     
  2. scarmack
    Offline

    scarmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sharpsville, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    all i can do is laugh. im sorry ahhahahahahaha
     
  3. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The market can automatically update itself without the need of OTA update.
     
  4. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh great, the jokster!!! ;)
     
  5. scarmack
    Offline

    scarmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sharpsville, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    :D haha


    ScarMack
     
  6. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks.

    I kinda figured, well, since it did update. But why didn't my brothers do so?
     
  7. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The market update rolls out to people at different times. He will get it eventually. If he wants it now he should be able to grab the updated market app and install it manually.
     
  8. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks:)

    I just had him clear data/cache in setting/applications/manage apps, start Market up, accept terms and conditions. Once he closed and re opened it was updated.

    Thanks again.