Market Hack

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by specramsey, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. specramsey
    Offline

    specramsey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the latest version of froyo sapphire, with it I downloaded the market hack. What is this and how do I use it?
  2. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    :welcome: to the forum :D

    Some versions of Froyo don't allow you to see certain apps in the market. I'm pretty sure this just fixes it so you can.
  3. jmart8684
    Offline

    jmart8684 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey corina...another market issue I noticed plenty of times: When updating at app, it will reach to 100%, then just stay there, and not install, requiring me to cancel the download, and trying again. I noticed it on every stock 2.2 leak, and custom rom. Is there a fix for that too, or something google needs to take care of?
  4. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,713
    Likes Received:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +153
    I have that happening occasionally. I had to go into the market application and clear the cache to get it to go away. And, I'm not using the 2.1 hack.
  5. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    My understanding of the market hack is it makes the market think you have a 2.1 android phone instead of a 2.2 android phone. I'm running fine without the hack. I know of others that had issue with some apps, Pandora I think it was. In that case grabbing the 2.1 version fixed the issue.

    I'd like to see a tool that lets you flip between the two versions.
  6. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,713
    Likes Received:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +153
    Look in the mirror and you'll see a tool. :icon_ banana:

    I never installed the hack either because I don't have problems with the market, but would also swap back and forth if something was there that would allow me to switch back and forth.
  7. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the hack changes a line in the build.prop file. You have to manually edit it or simply replace the file with the original file to get it back.
Search tags for this page

hackdroid market