1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Market Force Close on install - Can't install Applications

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by tehbrosta, May 23, 2010.

  1. tehbrosta
    Offline

    tehbrosta New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Basicly what the title states. I did notice that the market icon is green, it was blue.

    Any Ideas?

    I'm rocking 3.2, came from 3.1 w/ wipe.
  2. malkman
    Offline

    malkman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW
    Clear the market app's cache, force stop, and uninstall it. Re-Install and you should be good to go.
  3. tehbrosta
    Offline

    tehbrosta New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like market updated itself. Uninstalled updates & everything is working again.
  4. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't fix mine :(

    Did clear cache, force close but nothing else happened.
    How do you uninstall?
  5. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Menu|Settings|Applications|Manage applications
    Menu|Filter|All

    You should see the green Market icon now. Hit that and Uninstall Updates should be in there.
  6. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That button is not there.

  7. Aixelsyd
    Offline

    Aixelsyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Windy City
    Sure it is you have to be in the manage application list first. then press menu again and a screen will pop up that gives you 2 optins One is to sort other is filter. Once you click filter another screen shows up and you more then likely have to scroll up to select ALL
  8. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]

    I even bumped a Market.apk 1713 from my buddy's Cyanide mod and I can't load it because there is no way to remove/force close this one :(
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  9. uneronumo
    Offline

    uneronumo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump

    same issue, market will not force close, cannot see "uninstall updates" anywhere...
  10. specmac
    Offline

    specmac Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fix discussed in the 3.2 thread...

  11. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Um no, do you see an Uninstall anywhere in the picture above?
    I was hoping it would show up when I copied 1713 but still nothing.

    How do we get that button?
  12. Aixelsyd
    Offline

    Aixelsyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Windy City
    There is no uninstall because it is still showing the old version ( IE 1710 )so there is nothing to uninstall because it did not update itself yet.
  13. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says 1713 now that I copied it but the rest looks the same (still no button).

    Either way there is still something else wrong. I deleted the Vending.apk via command prompt and then UNINSTALL was available in MANAGE APPLICATIONS. Did that, rebooted, tried INSATALL via astro. Failed. Tried copying Vending.apk back to /system/app and it comes up but still FC's like initially. I'm crying now.

    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  14. Aixelsyd
    Offline

    Aixelsyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Windy City

    First off there will be no uninstall if you have 1713 on the device seeing as that is the current vending.apk

    How did yo ucopy vending.apk over to /system/app seeing as Astro failed which is normal mind you. You can not install via Astro.

    If you want my honest opinion I'd wipe the device out and reinstall 3.2 from scratch again. One first boot login and then let it do its thing syncing with Google and the Market. After that is done and you know the Market is updated then move forward with getting the more current Market installed.
  15. specmac
    Offline

    specmac Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dyslexia is correct. The post I referenced for the fix was a little dyslexic as well. The uninstall was referring to uninstalling the market app updates before your tried to apply the 1713 apk. You can tell if the market app has had updates applied because it is green. Once you remove the updates, it goes back to being blue. Once it's blue agian, then your ready to replace the vendor.apk.
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
Search tags for this page
eoeappinstaller force close
,

force install apk

,
how to force installer to close