Market "crashing"

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by freshman6969, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. freshman6969

    freshman6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i cant download anything on the market, im stock, but im rooted with z4root, i also have titainium back up pro, its been happening eversince i totaly restored my phone with RSD lite or w.e, since i put on the fission rom and it dident wanna load, i kept getting the same error messages im getting now with the market but for diffrent things, so i RSD'd it and now itll begin to install something and then say "the application market (process com.andriod.vending) has stopped unexpectedly. please try again" i reset the phone, pulled the battery, it doesnt work on either wifi or 3g, and i have yet to factory reset the phone but im waiting to do that to see if theres another option
     
  2. PunMaster

    PunMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your phone has been through a ROM change and multiple SBF restores, there's pretty much no way your data partition is still in a well-working state. As anoying as it is, I would reccomend you clear your cache and data (i.e. a factory reset) and redo the SBF to get a perfectly clean phone. Then re-root and maybe give Fission another try. The problem is, when you change ROMs, you almost always have to factory reset (unless special care was taken by the ROM developer to make things stay compatible).
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Get into the app manager and clear your Market's data and cache, reboot the phone, try to see if it still does it. Then report back. :) If problem persists we'll see about other fixes.
     
  4. freshman6969

    freshman6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope, same stuff :/ it says its installing but it stays there after i get the error message :/
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Okay. Wipe your Dalvik cache. There's an app in the Market called Cachemate. I don't know how effective it is, though.
     
  6. freshman6969

    freshman6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what? also i cant download anything off the market period :/
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Ah. Well, my suggestion to you is to get Bootstrapper, install it, reboot into recovery, do a wipe (but not a factory reset) if the option exists in Bootstrapper, reboot, uninstall Bootstrapper with terminal commands (I can provide those) and see if it fixes things. If not, you should do it manually.


    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalvik_(software)
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Bootstrapper can be downloaded and installed independently of the Market.
     
  9. freshman6969

    freshman6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have it already, i just did a factory reset, and all my apps and everything are still there, it works now, thanks!
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Great!

    That's the problem with running stock (not that you D2G guys have much choice) -- no real options except the big gun to clear things out/up. Glad it's working, though! :)
     
  11. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    They do now. There's a zip to flash that allows a D2G to run a D2 custom ROM :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Still pretty much stock. ;) Without a kernel a ROM is only a theme, basically.

    But yes, there are "ROMs" out there for the D2G.
     
  13. pbarch1

    pbarch1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have had the same problem too. It started, or I noticed it yesterday, didn't think much of it but today the same thing. I am rooted, and that is about it, never installed any ROM's. bootstrapped, but that is it.
     
  14. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    First, do a data/cache wipe from within the app manager. If that doesn't work, then reboot into bootstrap.

    Using bootstrap, wipe, but do not do a factory reset the first time. If you have to do a factory reset then back up anything you can't afford to lose just in case. :)
     
  15. freshman6969

    freshman6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so how do i go about putting fission on? last time i did it, i slid the unlock and i just kept getting error messages, i went into clockwork and installed it off the SD card, i really dont feel like doing RSD again, so can anyone guide me though it?
     
Similar Threads
  1. snog
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    2,811
  2. jerryc41
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    4,154
  3. tlutzy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,938
  4. patmw123
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,006
  5. NYMase
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,912
Loading...
Search tags for this page

market unexpectedly crashed xoom

,

xoom 2 market crash