maps using high amount of battery after jb

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by eodguy2, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    like many others, my battery life has suffered since JB. i have noticed over last couple of weeks thats maps using high 20% to 30% and is usually in lead even over screen! i have turned off all google now stuff thinking that was triggering it, but nope. my settings have never changed and prior to jb maps would be very very low unless using navagtion of course. any ideas ???????
     
  2. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    how did you acquire JB?
     
  3. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    opps sorry noticed didnt change profile. have S3 now. ota version by the way
     
  4. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    happens, not to S3 savvy, is GPS trying to hard to find you?
     
  5. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no. doesnt appear so. was very pleased (especially after coming from razr) with battery life etc prior to jb update. maps just seem to be taking over
     
  6. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    have you installed Gsam and/or android system? Gsam will tell you your battery hogs and android system you can see if your sensors are working overtime
     
  7. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, but just checked it out. may try and see if gives more details
     
  8. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    run Gsam for a bit and check their readings post your screen shot and our friendly members can offer insight, android system is good for stuck sensors that just keep running and running sucking bat ray
     
  9. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep will do. just down loaded. just have to figure outbhow to post them here ;)
     
  10. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    power and home button at the same time,try it. then on the forums hit attachments select pic and post
     
  11. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea know how to screen shot (use swipe method) just didnt know how to post it on here
     
  12. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    on the phone with the app?
     
  13. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Screenshot_2013-01-04-02-39-02.png here is initial screen shot (maybe)
     
  14. eodguy2

    eodguy2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Screenshot_2013-01-04-02-51-34.png although above shot showing maps using lower my battery manager still showing 14% as seen in this shot
     
  15. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +217
    is that how the GPS symbol is supposed to look on a s3 or is it trying to find you? what is the icon to the right of it? 6 seconds is a short time to figure it out but looks like GPS is going nuts
     
Search tags for this page
android maps using battery
,
galaxy s3 maps battery
,
google maps using battery
,
google maps using battery galaxy s3
,

maps using battery android

,

s3 maps battery

,
samsung galaxy s3 google maps battery
,
samsung galaxy s3 maps battery
,
samsung galaxy s3 maps using battery
,
why is maps using battery on android