Maps takes up WAY to much power...

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by JoshSB, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. JoshSB
    Offline

    JoshSB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    Last night I used my phone for a total of 16 hours before recharging it, maps was showing up as using 24% of the battery with about 17 minutes of GPS use and 7 minutes of CPU use.

    The display was at 7% after 3 HOURS of use and the winamp was at 4% after 2 hours of use and Wireless was on for 4 hours and used only 9%...

    Why would 17 minutes of GPS use use up so much MORE of my battery than 3 hours of screen use?

    I did read somewhere that there might be a glitch between the battery reporting and the Maps application.

    Is this a known issue, or is my GPS draining an inordinate amount of power?

    Thanks guys!

    ~ J

    P.S. here is a picture: *Ignore the large power drop late in the day, I changed from standard to extended batteries at that time. This problem has happened every day I use the phone so I know it is not that.

    In fact today I launched Maps for literally 23 seconds for CPU and 1 min 25 seconds for GPU and it is showing up as 24% of the battery...

    [​IMG]
  2. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +245
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    I was getting the same deal. I tried shutting the gps off and it didnt seem to stop it.
  3. JoshSB
    Offline

    JoshSB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, if I turn off GPS it stops counting the GPS used in the battery meter.

    However, again 17 minutes of GPS use (I did use it for 17 minutes) and 7 minutes of CPU usage under maps still claimed to have taken 24% of a 16 hour battery... It wasn't on the battery list until I used it for that 20 minutes...

    That is outrageous and SHOULD be wrong, unless the display, wi-fi, and winamp take literally NO power compared to it...
  4. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +245
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    On my phone maps was #1 on that list and I had not used it or gps at all. There must be a glitch.. I ended up freezing maps until I need it for something and that got rid of the problem!
  5. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeah, the stats are known to be glitchy anyway, but do you use Latitude by chance?
  6. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +245
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    No, dont use Latitude.
  7. JoshSB
    Offline

    JoshSB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, I don't use Latitude at all.

    I am thinking that it is glitchy reporting.