Maps 5.0 Coming shortly! Oh Yeah, You'll want it.

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by RW-1, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  2. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +164
    RW-1 thanks for posting this. I look forward to the update. This offline feature, does that mean if I'm in a remote section of PA and lose cell service the maps will still work?
     
  3. furiousDingo
    Offline

    furiousDingo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to the reviews - yes. Nav will still be able to use the GPS and compass to reroute you without a network connection.
     
  4. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe so, until we can play with it to determine how it determines what it caches it is anyone's guess.

    My guess is yes, I figure it will cache your route with associated vector maps when you start navigation. If you alter your route while offline no help, but it will keep you on the cached one. :)
     
  5. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    maps is out on the market now. make sure you go maps - menu - more - cache settings and check "Prefetch on Mobile" to enable caching services while on the go!
     
  6. magnus
    Offline

    magnus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't get this. Nav already does that. When you create a NAV route, it stores caches the entire route so that even if you lose signal, as long as you don't stray from the planned route, it would direct you.

    How is GM5 different?
     
  7. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    Because vectors take up a lot less space you can store much more of a route than you used to be able to.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't think that's completely true. a phone call counts as losing signal. i've received a phone call when nav was supposed to tell me to turn, but instead paused my route.
     
Search tags for this page
prefetch on mobile android
,

prefetcher service android

,

prefetcher service maps

,
prefetcher service maps android
,
prefetcherservice android
,
what is prefetcher service android