Manual root?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by nomad3d, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. nomad3d
    Offline

    nomad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there instructions anywhere on how to manually root the droid razr with ICS? Not one of the automated scripts work for me and it seems to be an issue with adb that I can't resolve.

    Thanks
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Welcome to Droid Forums!!

    Moved your thread over to the Razr Hacks section. That way the Razr pros can give you some advice.
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,018
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,025
    Welcome aboard :)
  4. nomad3d
    Offline

    nomad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the greetings :)
  5. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    No problem!! And sorry I don't have any Razr knowledge to share. I am sure someone will be along who does.

    "Don't Panic!"
    Tapatalk 2_NEXUS 7
  6. nomad3d
    Offline

    nomad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep getting the error from adb "error: device not found" ... I've tried manually putting the files on the device and using a terminal emulator, of course I can't move the files to where they need to be because I don't have permission... :p

    I remember using a terminal emulator to root my first Droid X... I dunno... been trying this for weeks to no avail.
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Does your PC recognize the phone?
  8. nomad3d
    Offline

    nomad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, it sees the phone. if it's in mass storage, I can transfer files back and forth manually or using the MDM. But... When I put it in MTP mode, MotoCast USB pops an error and says it can't connect the phone is still listed, and I can still access it as if it's in Mass Storage mode...

    I've tried it on my PC with Windows 7 64 bit, on my laptop with Windows 7 64 bit, and on an old dell with Windows XP, which I just wiped and put Ubuntu on it and am going to try to do it with that! LoL!
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Yeah that's strange, I definitely do not have any experience with that. Keep me posted on your latest operation.
  10. nomad3d
    Offline

    nomad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welp, tried under Linux too... adb keeps hanging on "waiting on device", which is the problem I have with it on windows too. adb doesn't find the device. Ever. :(

    Read a post somewhere about a guy that was having the same problem. Said he took his phone back and got a new on and it fixed the issue. But I'm not sure what I'd tell them at Verizon... "hey, I can't root my damn phone. Gimme a new one!" LoL
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    OK, this is a random thought and please don't be insulted, I am the kind of person who would forget this so I am asking. Do you have USB debugging enabled? It probably does need to be on for you to do all this.
  12. nomad3d
    Offline

    nomad3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. USB Debugging, MTP mode.

    This is why I'm hoping that there's a manual way to root the phone without using adb.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    I assumed you had it set right, just one of those things I thought I would throw out there.
Search tags for this page
android 2.3.6 manual rooting scripts linux
,
can you manually root a droid razr
,
droid razr m root no computer
,
droid x manual root
,
how to manually root droid razr
,
how to root droid razr manually in terminal emulator
,
how to root motorola razr i without a computer
,

how to superuser motorola droid3 with terminal emulator

,

root droid razr without computer

,
root razr m using terminal linux