Making Yahoo Mail sync without POP3

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by travismarcum, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. travismarcum
    Offline

    travismarcum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure to turn off your WiFi connection or this wont work.

    go to mail icon
    add account
    enter email address in email address filed (name@yahoo.com)
    enter password at password field
    select MANUAL SETUP not next
    select imap
    username= name@yahoo.com
    password = yourpassword
    imap server= imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port=143
    security=none
    optional = blank
    select next

    you will then be prompted to sign in do so.

    will then be taken to the smptp settings which only prompts (going form memory) you for address which is smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com. leave the port as is. then select next. sign in. name your account and that's it.
  2. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    nice, i was trying to get it set up via a pop3 account. got it set up and im good to go:icon_ banana:
  3. smokin5s
    Offline

    smokin5s New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude, this is awesome! I was trying forevery to figure this out!
  4. mjtedrow
    Offline

    mjtedrow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why won't it work with wifi connections?
  5. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice! Thanks for the tips!!!
  6. iHope
    Offline

    iHope New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is GREAT. I was bummed when I was using POP3. IMAP is much better -- If I leave something as unread on my Droid, it stays unread in my Yahoo. If I read it in Yahoo, it shows as Read on the Droid. SO much better than the POP3. THANK YOU for posting this.
  7. cktb2793
    Offline

    cktb2793 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    doesn't work for me :(
  8. eclimax13
    Offline

    eclimax13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    very good...worked perfectly..thank you so much:icon_ banana:
  9. VGx
    Offline

    VGx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was working great for me and then all of a sudden it says my password is bad. I'm getting a 530 access denied error. A quick search on Yahoo Answers leads me to believe this could be because I have a basic free account and not Mail Plus.

    Anyone else have this issue or know anything about it?
  10. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    I've had that happen a few times, I just gave it a min and tried again and it worked.
  11. VGx
    Offline

    VGx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I deleted the original account set-up and then set it up again and it started working fine after a little bit. Hopefully that isn't a regular occurence.
  12. MAzing87
    Offline

    MAzing87 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very helpful. Thanks.
  13. Buckweat
    Offline

    Buckweat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its not working for me. im doing evenything you say but at the last step its telling me "set up cound not finish" "unable to open connection to server"
  14. boz347sc
    Offline

    boz347sc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the how to.I was doing the pop3 also.
    Works perfect so far
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2010
  15. Brokn68
    Offline

    Brokn68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any chance it will work with Hotmail?
  16. stdesign
    Offline

    stdesign New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Works great for me, thanks! :)
  17. stangdroid
    Offline

    stangdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cant get it to work either.same message as above.what am I doing wrong?
Similar Threads
  1. uscjoel
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,040
  2. brute48
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,170
  3. crxlvr
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    4,562
  4. D.Doksa
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,363
  5. garyevs
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    970
Loading...
Search tags for this page
530 access denied on boost mobile cellphone
,
530 access denied : need smtp privileges to access this serv
,

530 access denied yahoo mail

,
530 access denied
,

530 access denied yahoo

,
530 access denied yahoo android
,
mobile phone 530 yahoo mail error
,
yahoo 530 access denied
,
yahoo denies me pop3 access
,
yahoo mail 530 access denied
,
yahoo mail settings galaxy ace 2
,
yahoo mail won't since with wifi off