Macbook (Pro) Hard Drive replacement

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by pc747, Apr 3, 2017.

  1. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,610
    Likes Received:
    5,577
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,177

    Those of us with a macbook that is getting up there in age here is some useful info.
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Replaced a few for friends and family. Pretty straightforward, but this is an excellent guide

    Though if they have the newest MBP then they're out of luck. They use a proprietary drive now from what I've heard.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    I replaced my HD a couple of years ago with an SSD.. Huge difference in speed.

    The new MBP, from what I understand is not user upgradable.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,696
    Likes Received:
    4,031
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Yes same here Samsung SSD here as well ...nice and simple replacement


    7+
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Not proprietary, soldered to the board. Like the Dell XPS 13. RAM and SSD aren't user upgradeable anymore.
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Oh, hmm thought it was proprietary. Yeah as an owner of the XPS 13, it's a bit of a bummer I couldn't upgrade the ssd myself, but realistically I don't need all that storage for what I use my laptop for.
     
  7. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Nah just the cheap way out for them. Make it so if something goes bad we have to pay.
     
    • Like Like x 1