LTE off?

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by ricks, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I live in an area that has NO LTE. Is there an app that kills LTE only and keeping 3G on?
  2. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  3. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What is going to happen with the phone set at "Global" in an area that has only 3G?
  4. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You'll just have 3G, although the LTE radio will still be active.

    Global mode enables the GSM radio for international roaming. In the U.S., it will have absolutely no impact on how your 3G/LTE radios operate. Global mode does not turn LTE off. The phone will act as though it's in LTE/CDMA mode.
  5. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Will having it set at Global use more battery? With GB, I was able to turn off LTE and only use the 3G radio. I want to set my maxx to save as much battery as possible.
  6. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    It's possible that it does, and it's possible that it doesn't. If you're trying to save as much battery life as possible with the radios, put your phone in the 3G only mode via one of the methods I posted above. If you don't want to do either of those, just put it in CDMA/LTE mode.
  7. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
  8. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Something that I noticed today not sure if it has been mentioned before, but I did a hard reset on the phone and it put that option back to default. I had to dial in and change it back to the CDMA auto mode from the LTE/CDMA/Global. Just an FYI
Search tags for this page
do i turn off lte
,
droid maxx turn on lte
,
droid razr lte radio
,
galaxy nexus gsm lte radio
,
galaxy note 2 global mode or lte
,
galaxy note lte only mode
,
how to use lete on off
,

lte on off

,

new droid razr lte on/off or global

,
note 2 lte onoff
,
razr maxx hd lte shut off
,
should i put my droid dna in lte mode
,
should my phone be on global or lte