Low batt. life - BB v1.0 1ghz Kernel

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by elninost0rm, May 7, 2010.

  1. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would I have to su and run pete after each reboot, or would it do it automatically? Thanks.
     
  2. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    I believe pete says it runs at boot automatically. i don't know if it runs again periodically or not though, but I don't think so, because pete did say that you can just start setCPU after boot if you still wanted to use profiles. So it wouldn't make sense if it was constantly killing setCPU.
     
  3. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, I mean using that edited Pete file. The instructions say to reboot and manually run Pete, which doesn't make sense if it boots automatically.
     
  4. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Oh yeah no don't think that's necessary
     
  5. Sing1gniS

    Sing1gniS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really think it was the SetCPU update (1.5.2) that was causing heavy battery usage for me. I reverted back to 1.5.1a yesterday afternoon, charged overnight and so far today, I have normal battery usage back. I see there is another update out (1.5.2a) but I'm a little reluctant to try it out until others say it is okay.
     
  6. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    try 152a came out last night i think?


     
  7. peteralfonso

    peteralfonso Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The pete script is only run at boot, to use setcpu properly the ONLY line that needs to be removed is: busybox killall -q com.mhuang.overclocking do not remove any other lines, only edit them. Some of you may not even have the line I mentioned to remove, after realizing it caused issues with profiles I removed it from many of the kernels I posted. Also the last line that says echo "Bugless Beast by Pete" or echo "NexBeast...etc." should not be there, you can remove that also. With these lines removed you can use SetCPU as you did before with no ill effect.
     
  8. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    pete,

    welcome back to the rat race. I hope you are doing better, and that getting caught up in your threads does not cause a relapse:).

    I have been playing with all of this setcpu stuff, and your Pete file, and was about to post before I saw your update. There may be some tail chasing going on, as I have found that my Pete script does not appear to be running at all. I came to this conclusion after delving into the various threads, and realizing through looking at my running processes after boot, that many of your scripted kills were showing up in my running processes, right after boot.

    I am running your v1 with the smoked glass theme, modded with a few clear widget morphs. I have been flashing some kernels, mostly yours, a few others, and have just reflashed your Bekit approved 1.1lv. Still many of the apps are showing up as running processes after boot. I can manually run your script and they all kill properly. The only thing I have not tried is wiping cache and data in rom manager with the oc kernel update.

    So, any suggestions as to get the Pete script working again at boot. I am not terribly hip to wiping cache and data again for a kerenl upgrade, perhaps it is necessary? Or, if I understood where/when the script should be running, perhaps I can troubleshoot . I am asking this here, as my thinking is that perhaps others may be having this same issue, whether through manually modding/deleting your script, or perhaps as a byproduct of kernel flashing or theming (res-apk file).


    Thanks,

    Craig
     
  9. samiusmc

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Pete, in your next release, can you make it so the remaining battery percentage is displayed inside the battery icon like Cyanogen MOD does? That would be great.
     
  10. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm pretty sure this is a theme thing and not a rom thing. There is another thread in this section that has the round battery icon. I heard it works.
     
  11. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's both.

    You can change the theme to have different battery status icons for 100%, 80%, 60%, 40%, 20%, and dead. (I did this change, it was a pretty painless change using metamorph). If you want it to display in 10% increments like it does in the About Phone battery status, however, that requires a more significant change to both the ROM and the theme to accommodate.
     
  12. mekman

    mekman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using the 600mhz kernal, no task killer, no setcpu, using pete's script and using juice defender. Today with light usage and after 9 hours I've only used 20% battery life. Not bad. Before with the 1000mhz kernal, no juice defender and using setcu correctly I was still having horrible battery life. Within a matter of hours the battery would drop 20 - 30% with light usage only. Heavy usage and I would have to charge 3 times a day.
     
  13. bad4u

    bad4u Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    After reading this thread i uninstalled my advanced taskkiller and setcpu. I am now using the belkit 800 LV and juicedefender and am very happy with battery life.
     
  14. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question. Does bb without setcpu still have a failsafe for overheating? I uninstalled taskkiller and setcpu and am noticing better battery life already.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  15. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. If you are concerned about temp install temp monitor. You shouldn't see any issues.
     
Search tags for this page

how does the dialer on a casio commando kill the battery

,

pete's 600 mhz kernel