Low batt. life - BB v1.0 1ghz Kernel

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by elninost0rm, May 7, 2010.

  1. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind, figured it out.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2010
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't do it with Astro. You will need to download root explorer.
     
  3. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    how bout with terminal? I know there's a way to mount with terminal and then maybe do a rm command? Not sure though...
     
  4. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running the 1 ghz kernel, without Pete's script, using SetCPU only.

    400 min, 1000 max while active.

    400 min, 550 max while sleeping.

    Will test battery life and report back.
     
  5. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    I guarantee you'll see an improvement haha, i did 6-8 extra hours of life almost dancedroid
     
  6. BoxcuttaStyle

    BoxcuttaStyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    any idea what the actual script name is?
     
  7. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    its called pete...don't know if there's an extension. pete included a sysrw, sysro option so you can try typing this in a terminal (i take no responsibility if it doesn't work haha)

    su
    sysrw
    rm /system/xbin/pete
    sysro
     
  8. wisdroid

    wisdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've experienced exactly the same with the Bekit kernels on EVERY rom I've used them with. ChevyNo1's kernels have done excellent for me across the board. I've flashed about 10 different roms and the best success kernel wise has been with P3 kernels and ChevyNo1 kernels. I realize Pete only recommends Bekit's on BB 1.0 but ChevyNo1's LV 7 slot 1.2 is doing great for me.
     
  9. BoxcuttaStyle

    BoxcuttaStyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright I've removed the 'pete' script via TermEmul and rebooted. Seems to be working fine. I guess I'll have to see if the battery life improves now.
     
  10. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well you'll have to use setCPU now I'm sure if you want to see improvements in batt life. Just letting you know. The point of removing 'pete' is so you can use setCPU to manage profiles. I don't think it'll make a difference if you just delete the file and dont use setCPU. If you don't notice any improvement just redownload the ROM and apply it again and the pete file will be back, if you need to experiment somewhere else.
     
  11. BoxcuttaStyle

    BoxcuttaStyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, that's what I was thinking as well. Thanks for the input! enjoy your Friday.
     
  12. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    btw, if you want the pete file back you can probably also use these commands:

    su
    sysrw
    busybox cp /sdcard/pete system/xbin
    sysro

    provided you have the pete file from the ROM package in the root of your SD card. prolly easier than reinstalling the whole ROM. If I'm wrong feel free to correct me haha
     
Search tags for this page

how does the dialer on a casio commando kill the battery

,

pete's 600 mhz kernel