Lovin' my D2G

pastorgadget

Reaction score
I am not a newbie to smartphones, having lived on my BlackBerry for two years. I did a lot of research (and drooling) before finally springing for the Droid 2 Global. I chose it for the hardware keyboard and the global bandwidth. (I'm praying for a trip to England soon. :)) I also dropped an extra bit of cash for an extended battery (complete with a white battery door to match my white phone), the car dock, and the desktop dock. All worth the investment. (BTW, I had to make some adjustments to the car dock frame to make it so it would hold my D2G with its clear case, but it fits fine now.)

Coming from a BlackBerry Curve 8330, it has taken some getting used to NOT being able to select text with a trackball. (Let's face it, selecting text on any phone sucks without a trackball/pad.) But I have found the screen and OS very responsive. And the available apps beat BB by a mile.

MotoBlur? Well, on my phone it seems less obtrusive because I simply don't use all those Motorola widgets, opting instead for the stock Android or Market widgets--when I use them at all.

My only quibble is the battery life. My BB could go for 2 days between charges, depending on my internet usage and talk time. I rarely had to hit a charger before bedtime. But left to its own devices, my Droid drops to 60% after 8 hours, and I haven't dared to let it go overnight without a charge. I keep my widgets to a minimum, and Battery Saver is on "nighttime" mode. But you know what? Considering that this little handheld computer has more power than just about every desktop computer I've ever owned, I am willing to deal with the slightly lower battery life.

In general, quite happy with my Droid--and happy to have a smartphone that is NOT married to Apple. :p

Hawaiian Princess

Reaction score