Lottery ticket checker

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jedihep, Mar 7, 2010.

1. jedihep

jedihep New Member

I'm new to the Droid, but here's an app I'd like to see someone make that isn't in the marketplace. It seems that the Droid and some of the other smart phones are well capable of it and only need the app written that will make it possible. I'd like to see someone write an app that would let you use the barcode/dotmatrix capabilities of these phones to scan your powerball and daily number tickets to check them for any winners that you may have missed. It just seems to me that if you can check them that way at the local store and the information is readily available online, so why wait in line at the store to check your tickets, check them at your leisure in the comfort of your home with your smart phone! Let me know what you think. I know very little of programing but the hardware is there. It just seems that it just needs someone to be interested enough to write the app to preform this task. If someone is capable of this or if I my thought process on this app idea is faulty please let me know.
  2. STIDRIVER

STIDRIVER New Member

Interesting idea........
  3. navdoc1110

navdoc1110 New Member

I would buy this as well
  4. luckylotto

luckylotto New Member

realy its good idea...........
  5. NoKz

NoKz New Member

I'd buy it
  6. baniels

baniels New Member

I've been toying with that idea since before I got the Droid. The barcodes themselves don't contain the numbers picked - just the ID of the purchased ticket.
  7. Steve H

Steve H Member

I'd buy it if we had a lotto in Utah.................
  8. Topsy

Topsy New Member

Ya the ticket barcode just is a reference id to the lottery database with all the info about where it was purchased and what numbers were selected. Only the lottery themselves would be able to produce such an app with access to the database.