Lost voice mail inbox upon phone upgrade

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S5 Discussions' started by MendedLogic, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. MendedLogic

    MendedLogic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,
    Can someone help me figure out why I lost my VM when I upgraded from a Galaxy Nexus to the S5? Ive had the same mailbox since I opened my account with vzw 10 yrs ago its lasted thru all device upgrades but this one. I need to remedy this if at all possible I would like to keep my original mailbox

    Thank you
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Are you talking Visual Voicemail, or dialing the number to call and listen to them?
     
  3. MendedLogic

    MendedLogic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dialing the number, in fact when you call my number it would normally take you to my 'already' set up vm but now it's saying it hasn't been set up yet.. I just want my old vm back this makes no sense since I've never had this issue upgrading prior phones on vzw
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Yes, that certainly doesn't sound right. You didn't get a new phone number I'm assuming as that would be the obvious cause. Did you suspend the service at time of your upgrade or prior to? Did you have any kind of service interruption? Did you cancel your old contact and "reserve" the phone number, and then have it reassigned to the new contract (a method used by some Verizon dealers to bypass Verizon rules and get upgrades on lines that would otherwise suffer plan changes or the like)?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    All great questions. If the vzw network thinks the mailbox isn't setup, I get the feeling you're gonna have to speak with them to fully resolve this issue.
     
  6. MendedLogic

    MendedLogic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am on the grandfather plan of unlimited everything so upgrading is out if the question now, if I wish to keep that plan. So I have to purchase new phones out right (ouch) which I did and just switched my Sim card's. And there was no interruptions, none of what you asked with my number its been the same for 10 yrs. I just walked in with my Galaxy Nexus purchased the Galaxy S5 swapped Sim card's walked out lol
     
  7. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,882
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,713
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    It has you do with the updated VoLTE and the latest 4.4.4 update. It screwed everybody's voicemail up....including my own. You'll have to go in and set it up again or call Verizon to have them do it so you don't lose any current voicemails. (I didn't lose any of mine...But just in case)
    Also, if you paid full price for your S5 like we did so you could keep your unlimited, you should have been given a new SIM card. We weren't able to use the sim cards from our S3s, regardless of how we purchased our new device. I mean I'm sure they would have worked, but we were told our S5s required a new card. (We still have our unlimited of course)
    Good luck!

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    That's crazy. Same line, same plan, same sim card should = same voicemail box. Like I said before, I think you're gonna have to call vzw on this one, unless someone else has a better idea, but the issue has to be on their end since they host the voicemail. Hopefully it's a simple fix, but I'm worried it won't be, at least as far as recovering messages you had saved. Never know til you try though.

    UPDATE: See post above mine. Might get ya where you're trying to go!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. MendedLogic

    MendedLogic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you everyone for your help it's much appreciated!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page

galaxy s5 lost voicemail after update

,

i have a galaxy s5 lost my voicemail

,

phone has lost the voicemail

,

setting up voicemail on droid turbo

,

upgraded lost voicemail account galaxy