Lost SU Permissions, can't unroot droid.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cmacon888, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. cmacon888

    cmacon888 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if I'm postin in the right place but either way I need the help. I rooted my 2.1 and accidentally wiped the data. The phone is still rooted but I lost my su status. Now I cant install any other rom, reload anyone of the roms I had before, or even go back to stock. Does anyone have any alternate ways of unrooting or regaining SU permissions.
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
  3. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Root is Superuser access so if you don't have superuser access you don't have root.
     
  4. cmacon888

    cmacon888 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I still have the bb 1.1 rom on there and some of the programs even state that I am still rooted I just don't have access. So I don't know the exact technichal term, but there is something preventing me from unrooting.
     
  5. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Root is superuser access. If you don't have superuser access you don't have root. Doesn't change what ROM you are running, doesn't even matter what ROM you are running as all that occurred while you had root access. ROM's don't require root to run, just to be installed. Since your "root" applications are telling you they don't have access....you don't have root.
     
  6. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    OP is saying
     
  7. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If a contradiction exists, I would follow the three R's:

    Reflash
    Re-root
    Retry.
     
  8. cmacon888

    cmacon888 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    tcrews-Does that mean that I can just root it again the same way I did before?

    KZIwarrior thanks for the link. That sounds a little above me so I'll try it with my friend when I get home.
     
  9. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    No he's saying..

    So he doesn't have root. What he needs to do is ROOT his phone again if he wants to change ROM's, etc.. He doesn't need to un-root as he isn't rooted now.
     
  10. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Two questions:

    1) Do you have the Superuser Permission app in the app drawer?
    2) When you open one of the terminal emulator programs and type in "su" and hit enter, do you get the "#" sign?
     
  11. cmacon888

    cmacon888 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm appreciative of all the help, yes I have the Superuser Permission app and on TU when i press enter i just get what looks like a $
     
  12. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    If you still have SPRecovery you can run the install of Update.zip for root.
    If you lost SPRecovery as well...you can flash with RSDLite the SPRecovery.sbf file..giving you SPRecovery to allow you the ability to install the Update.zip for root (or install other ROMs that are already rooted).

    SPRecovery is not root, SuperUser icon in your apps drawer is not root. Root is all access permissions (superuser permissions) to the phone's files. If you don't have permissions you don't have root.
     
Search tags for this page

4.2.2 lost permissions

,

how to i regain root permission on my droid x2

,

how to unroot if u aint got su permissions

,

lost superuser permissions 4.1.2 android

,

lost superuser permissions motorola 4.1.2 android

,

s4 doesnt have android root permission