Lost Root

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by dtexpress45, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. dtexpress45

    dtexpress45 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I rooted following the guide in this forum about a month ago. All worked great until last night when the market update apps including super user. It now appears I've lost root and my ability to wirelessly tether.

    Help!

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  2. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    I assume by this you mean you got the 2.3.4 update. If so you are (hopefully) only temporarily out of luck. 2.3.4 hasn't been "cracked" yet.
    Hopefully it will be soon.
     
  3. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Try manually booting into Hboot and selecting recovery: Hold power and volume down button. While in Hboot select recovery. IF you get into clockwork recovery try to restore a backup.
     
  4. 8on3s

    8on3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had an issue similar to that, Su updated to 3.0, and I was getting fc's all around my root apps. There was a flashable Su binary I was able to use. When I get back to my computer I can give you a link if you need it.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  5. pzeronoir

    pzeronoir New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lost Root After SU Update

    Same problem here - SU update killed root. I've tried installing an older version (2.3.6), but that failed, as did restoring from CWM. Thoughts?
     
  6. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    There's a method on XDA to re-root 2.3.4, but you don't end up with a rooted 2.3.4 - it simply reverts you to 2.3.3 with .97 hboot, so you can do what you want from there. It's not for the android "newbie" though...
     
  7. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Actually it really isn't that hard to do. However that isn't what the op is talking about. When they updated superuser they started getting fc issues with their rooted programs. I would attempt to uninstall the update and see if that corrects the issues. Then contact the developer about the problems you had. Good luck!

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  8. AirForceAngler

    AirForceAngler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still have 2.3.3 and lost root also. What to do?

    Sent to today from yesterday using tomorrow's technology.
     
  9. pzeronoir

    pzeronoir New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here rooty, rooty, rooty...

    Exactly. I've avoided the OTA updates to GB 2.3.4. It was the SU update that killed root.

    Unfortunately, I've tried dumping the update without success, as well as installing an older version of SU, and also flashing a recovery. All failed.

    The SU developer says there have been a slew of problems along these lines, but he hasn't had the time to release an updated SU.

    If anyone has found a fix for the dinc2, please post.
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    have you tried flashing a zip file through clockwork to get root? if you haven't try this one: Dropbox - su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed.zip - Simplify your life

    edit: for what it's worth, sometimes in cwr, it takes 3 or 4 tries before it flashes correctly... no idea why, but in case you run into an error
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  11. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    You guys could also try flashing a rom that has super user built in like TSM GB. Don't update superuser from the market.

    Sent from my Incredible 2
     
  12. pzeronoir

    pzeronoir New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, jnt.

    Unfortunately, clockwork would not get me there, apparently b/c of the SU problem. But I restarted and loaded the zip the long way. I think I've got root back, but I'm unsure it will last. I previously loaded an older SU zip (another 2.3.6.3), and I got root back but then lost it somehow. Anyway, root seems to be back.

    One weird observation: After installing the zip I restarted and went straight to SU. It FC'd. Other apps, however, still got root access and worked. I then went back to SU, and now it opens just fine.

    So I'm now running SU 2.3.6.3, as well as binary 2.3.2-efgh. I assume I need to avoid updating not just SU but also the binary, right?


    Thanks again!
     
  13. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    That's good, the long way is what I was referring to.

    I'm still not sure why you lost root access, but yes, it might be best to not update.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
  14. jet

    jet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I go into Titanium Backup last night and get a message that it was unable to acquire root. Odd, I've been rooted for a few months now. Granted, I don't need it much. So I look in Superuser's log and it shows Titanium Backup as Allowed. I try BusyBox and it is Denied, Undelete is Denied, Root Uninstaller is Allowed, CPU Master is Allowed. CPU Master says it is denied Root but allowed Superuser. I do not get a prompt to grant permission in any of the apps, even though this is that setting in Superuser. I'm not sure what to do at this point. With ICS due out soon (hopefully) I may just wait.
     
Similar Threads
  1. gearchief06
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,005
  2. seyaffe
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    755
  3. kerncop
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,882
  4. ragenrebel
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    2,215
  5. jet
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...