Lost My 3G

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hookbill, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Has anybody ever mysteriously lost your 3G signal? If you have please share with me how you got it back. My wife's bb curve is getting 1XEV. I'm getting 1x. I tried posting in a thread but I think that thread is now buried.

    I've called Verizon and they have a ticket on it. I'm using wiring right now. Frequently I have no service without wifi.

    If anybody has a clue I'd love to hear from you.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Figured it out
    Had to do..a factory reset

    L
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Figure out what was causing it?
  4. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Sorry Hook, I've not run into this yet (well not with my Droid and finace's new phone) it used to happen regularly when we were on AT$T which is why I paid the ETFs and left.

    Will be interesting to see what VZW says about your ticket.

    Curious, are you stock or running a cooked ROM?
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Running stock 2.0.1 no root. I'm still having problems getting a 3G signal. Its got to be a tower issue. I should know by tomorrow.
  6. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yeah I'd say that is what is causing this...

    Still sorry to hear that it's still not working though....that's got to be aggravating...:mad:
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    The part that's really bugging me is why is wife's Blackberry Curve getting 1XEV. I'm having a hard time holding on to a cell signal.

    Looks like I need to hit the road and see if it's like that everywhere I go. If it is, then I'll have a better idea if it's the phone or the tower.
  8. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    I've had this issue once or twice on the droid, it would be at 3g, and then randomly drop to 1x, i fixed it by just putting it in airplane mode and then bringing it back out so it started and stopped the radio. Worked fine in my case. But as i said this has only happened once or twice and that was prior to the latest update.
  9. masterxchief
    Offline

    masterxchief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I do the same thing but it happens to me quite often, maybe like 2-3 times a week.
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well I just went to a Trader Joes about 30 minutes away from my house. In that parking lot I started surfing the web and I got a strong 3G signal, and 5 bars. Tried several different sites, worked great. Went in, did my shopping and tried it again. Same results.

    I get home, pull it out of my pocket and no service phone or data. Got to be a problem with a tower in the area. I have called Verizon and I have a service ticket number. We shall see.
  11. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    So any official word from VZW on your situation?
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    That would be a big Negative. They promised 48 hours, now they are back tracking saying that since it's with an engineer it may take another 48 hours.

    I currently have 1x and 1 bar. I'm getting no service periods. If I didn't have wifi this thing would be in paper weight mode.
  13. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Wow... sounds like AT$T:icon_evil::icon_evil: Expected more from Verizon given their reputation.
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Just checked my service. I've had no service for 17% of the time since I last unplugged, about 2 hours ago.

    If I hadn't seen the phone perform so well when I was at Trader Joe's yesterday I'd be on the phone asking them to send me a new one.

    I'm going to see what happens on wife's phone when she tries to surf net. She as a Curve and if she gets on faster then I do, I'll be pissed.
  15. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Did you try doing *228 options 1 and 2?
  16. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Tell me you're joking. Puleasse. :)

    I've not only done that I've also did a factory reset. And did options 1 and 2 after the factory reset. Still no go.:mad:

    That's why I want to see how my wife's phone does. Will both go to the same web site. If she beats me I'm going to think something is funky with my phone.
  17. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Hey it had to be asked :)

    Perhaps verizon is dicking around with towers in your area.
  18. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, I live in a rural part of town. Hell my whole town is rural. So I don't usually get 5 bars but 3G was consistent. Only a couple of times in the past did I see it go to 1x. Now it's either 1x or not at all.
  19. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    didn't this all start after you went back to stock?? off chance, if you're wifes phone is working (at least better than yours) maybe try rerooting and loading a different kernel.
  20. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    No, my phone was working fine as of 2 days ago after I had removed the root. Further, it worked fine 15 miles away from my house. I really think it's a problem with a tower, but even if it isn't rooting is not the answer. I'd get another phone first.
Search tags for this page
3g not working on motorola electrify
,

motorola electrify 3g not working

,
motorola electrify lost 3g
,
motorola electrify no 3g
,
were did my 3g go
,
where did my 3 g go
,

where did my 3g go

,
where did my 3g go droid
,
where did my 3g go?
,
where is my 3g service
,
why did i lose my 3g signal
,
why did my 3g go to d