Lost My 3G

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hookbill, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Has anybody ever mysteriously lost your 3G signal? If you have please share with me how you got it back. My wife's bb curve is getting 1XEV. I'm getting 1x. I tried posting in a thread but I think that thread is now buried.

    I've called Verizon and they have a ticket on it. I'm using wiring right now. Frequently I have no service without wifi.

    If anybody has a clue I'd love to hear from you.
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Figured it out
    Had to do..a factory reset

    L
     
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Figure out what was causing it?
     
  4. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry Hook, I've not run into this yet (well not with my Droid and finace's new phone) it used to happen regularly when we were on AT$T which is why I paid the ETFs and left.

    Will be interesting to see what VZW says about your ticket.

    Curious, are you stock or running a cooked ROM?
     
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Running stock 2.0.1 no root. I'm still having problems getting a 3G signal. Its got to be a tower issue. I should know by tomorrow.
     
  6. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I'd say that is what is causing this...

    Still sorry to hear that it's still not working though....that's got to be aggravating...:mad:
     
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    The part that's really bugging me is why is wife's Blackberry Curve getting 1XEV. I'm having a hard time holding on to a cell signal.

    Looks like I need to hit the road and see if it's like that everywhere I go. If it is, then I'll have a better idea if it's the phone or the tower.
     
  8. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I've had this issue once or twice on the droid, it would be at 3g, and then randomly drop to 1x, i fixed it by just putting it in airplane mode and then bringing it back out so it started and stopped the radio. Worked fine in my case. But as i said this has only happened once or twice and that was prior to the latest update.
     
  9. masterxchief
    Offline

    masterxchief Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do the same thing but it happens to me quite often, maybe like 2-3 times a week.
     
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well I just went to a Trader Joes about 30 minutes away from my house. In that parking lot I started surfing the web and I got a strong 3G signal, and 5 bars. Tried several different sites, worked great. Went in, did my shopping and tried it again. Same results.

    I get home, pull it out of my pocket and no service phone or data. Got to be a problem with a tower in the area. I have called Verizon and I have a service ticket number. We shall see.
     
  11. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    So any official word from VZW on your situation?
     
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    That would be a big Negative. They promised 48 hours, now they are back tracking saying that since it's with an engineer it may take another 48 hours.

    I currently have 1x and 1 bar. I'm getting no service periods. If I didn't have wifi this thing would be in paper weight mode.
     
  13. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Wow... sounds like AT$T:icon_evil::icon_evil: Expected more from Verizon given their reputation.
     
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just checked my service. I've had no service for 17% of the time since I last unplugged, about 2 hours ago.

    If I hadn't seen the phone perform so well when I was at Trader Joe's yesterday I'd be on the phone asking them to send me a new one.

    I'm going to see what happens on wife's phone when she tries to surf net. She as a Curve and if she gets on faster then I do, I'll be pissed.
     
  15. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try doing *228 options 1 and 2?
     
Search tags for this page
3g not working on motorola electrify
,
motorola electrify 3g not working
,
motorola electrify lost 3g
,
motorola electrify no 3g
,

where did my 3g go

,
where did my 3g go droid
,
where did my 3g go?
,
where is my 3g service
,
why did i lose my 3g signal
,
why did my 3g go to d