1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Lost fingerprint on stock.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Gemdog, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. Gemdog
    Offline

    Gemdog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Guys/Girls,

    Somehow my phone seems to have lost it's fingerprint. I was having random lockups and the like, which looks like it ended up being related to the memory card and a app trying to read it on boot, but after 4 phone resets and a format of the sd card to find and fix it, the phone stabilised out to normal, but I've lost access to protected apps in the market.

    I contacted one of the app developers, who assured me the app still exists, pointed me towards the fingerprint, at which point I found many apps missing.

    Marketplace was working normally before, and after the first reset, but the apps were gone after the 3rd.

    I'm running a stock 2.1update1 rom on a HK Milestone, which had a OTA update weeks ago with no issues. The only non-market app I've ever used was the Mario Live Wallpaper, and never a marketplace replacement.

    I tried using a different google account with no luck.

    Can someone point me to how to get a new fingerprint? I really want/need my paid apps back...

    Thanks in advance.
  2. Gemdog
    Offline

    Gemdog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just an update:

    I called Motorola, explained what had happened, unfortunately the call centre girl had no clue what I was on about, so she put me through to a Level 2 tech, who didn't really grasp the issue. So after a argument about "You need to talk to Google" "But Motorola control fingerprinting, and have to forward it to Google".. eventually they agreed that they need to escalate it to Level 3 and would call me back.

    So now I'm waiting for them to call me back again...

    In the mean time, the Motorola Update says I'm up to date, so I can't just flash to fix it :(

    Is there any way to downgrade or reflash identical without doing the Venerable recovery? All the threads I find all cover venerable for rooting, not just stock...
  3. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you factory reset?
  4. Gemdog
    Offline

    Gemdog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Yes, twice. Once from the phone settings menu, and one from doing the Power-X>Camera-Volume method.

    Only thing I can think of is there was a OTA update about 3 weeks ago, perhaps that fingerprint never got submitted to Google for activation? Thou I thought I had access to the apps after the first reset. (the memory card didn't function after a format in a card reader until I reset the phone for some odd reason.)
  5. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hm thats odd. Yeah you might want to wait for the tech before doing anything.
  6. Gemdog
    Offline

    Gemdog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, yeah I agree.

    The only thing I can forsee it the stock answer "This phone is outside of it's reigon, you need to contact support in Hong Kong" and my Mandarin is poor... I could sense he was going to try that the first time, as he kept bringing up "It's a HK phone in Australia?"...

    I guess if they say "It needs to go in for service" I'll just root it and use the Market Enabler.