Lost 90% battery life in 3hours and phone got hot!

Mondingo

Reaction score
ok, so I'm new to the droid Market. Had the Thunderbolt. Too many problems..I love my Droid3. But a few days ago, I was charging it overnight. In the morning, unplugged it. I noticed the phone was hotter than usual. But just thought it was me. Went to work. About 2 hours later, my phone was so hot to handle and the battery life was at 10%. Almost like an app was running constantly and was searching for a signal or something. I had wifi turned off. Anyway, shut phone off and pulled hot ass battery out. let it cool for an hour. Reinstalled battery. Rebooted, and now no problems. My question is could this had hurt anything with the phone? Performance wise and so on? Even the screen was hot. Also since this happened, when the phone is in sleep mode and the screen is black, when I go outside and the light hits the phone, I can see all the little squares in the screen. I think this is from the qhd pentile screen. And is normal. Just never noticed this before. But just parnoid I guess. I'm the kind of person when something goes wrong with an item I worry it does not peform the same or i now want another phone. Just curious if an of you had this problem anyway. Thanks for any info. Other than that love the Droid 3..

compasst

Reaction score
Too common of an experience

Your experience with a hot phone is an all-to-common one. Some app on the phone gets stuck in some mode of heavy CPU utilization, runs down the battery, makes the phone hot.

My experience says that ANY hot electronics could be compromised - after all, if it was OK to run hot, then they would not make fans and cooling fins, would they?

Hard to say if your phone was compromised by the heat. Mine has done this two or three times - it still works OK.

The bigger problem is getting Motorola to address this issue. NEVER happened on my original Droid (or any of the dozen or so other smartphones I have owned).

OP
M

Mondingo