Lost 100 Contacts HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dudeitsmattx, Jan 9, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. dudeitsmattx
    Offline

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    After re-booting my phone after it froze while using dolphin browser for the first I noticed just a little bit ago that in my contacts I only have 16 and I had over 116 in there before. That was the only thing new I downloaded so I don't have a clue of what is going on.. Any help would be great thanks!

    *Edit* Also I did use the facebook app and I did sync my contacts then I signed off. Could it have something to do with that? Because I have herd some issues going on with that. And even when I sign in a sync all it still only shows 16. WTF!
  2. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you sync with your G mail account? As I understand it when you save a contact is stored in the Google cloud. I had to replace my Droid and all I had to do was sync with the G mail account and presto, they were back. I had to do the same with F.B. as well.
  3. dudeitsmattx
    Offline

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would I have had to already sync them? Or do you mean the phone does it on its own when you add a new number, and I need to sync it to get them back?
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Go into Contacts>>Menu>>Display Options>>choose contacts to show.....see whats checked....
  5. dudeitsmattx
    Offline

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Under that the only thing that is checked is "System Group: My Contacts"
  6. dudeitsmattx
    Offline

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhh I check all other contacts and Im back to 132 contacts! Thank you so much you all are life savers! I was 5 mins away from going to Verizon haha!
  7. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid does it automatic. Like I said I had to get a new Droid all of my contacts that I manually entered were all there. Hit you menu button and go in to settings and go to accounts & sync. You should see your Gmail account and then sync to that.

    I see you got it, good to know!