Losing signal randomly - no data, dropped calls

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by mm81, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. mm81

    mm81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have generally -75 to -90 dB of 4G and 3G signal at both work and home in Metro DC. In both places, I have seen the phone lose all data connectivity randomly AND it drops whatever call is currently taking place. I initially thought it was because I kept changing the 3G/4G settings via the *#*#4636#*#* setting, so I did a factory reset. But again, I've seen it lose all connectivity.

    Does it sound like my phone is faulty?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well, if it happened in one place then I'd say tower issue. And it still may be.

    See TB is so new it's hard to say but I can tell you I'm not seeing a lot of threads like this. My suggestion is to call VZW and tell them that you have done a reset and still are having an issue. Either they will give you another phone or do a ticket for you.
     
  3. Natejka7273

    Natejka7273 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, P.A.
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the signal tends to be good in these location then it may be defective. I've made a lot of calls and haven't dropped a call once yet (Pittsburgh). Maybe the SIM card is faulty or something. Did you or a dumb Verizon employee dial *228? because apparently doing that destroys stuff. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/htc-thunderbolt/134030-228-destroys-sim-card.html. I don't know what *#*#4636#*#* is but maybe that messed with the SIM card. If it happens often in other locations I would definitely take it to Verizon for help. Then again, it could be an unresolved handshake issue I guess.
     
  4. ericcsong

    ericcsong Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you using google voice? Im near the DC area and this has happened to me. I'm wondering if its a google voice issue or a TB issue
     
  5. iOSh8er

    iOSh8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having the same problems. This phone seems to receive a weak signal. It goes from 3G to 1X constantly in areas that my Droid had excellent 3G coverage. I may call VZW on this.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  6. joeshell20

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this same exact problem with my dx. Even with the replacement that big red sent me, it still does it. Fyi, Verizon phones don't use sim cards. They use cdma technology.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. iOSh8er

    iOSh8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI...
    The thunderbolt does use a sim card.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  8. jmz768

    jmz768 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude, are you even paying attention? LTE uses sim cards.
     
  9. joeshell20

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't know lte uses sim cards. I am happy with my droidx, so I don't really pay that much attention to all the new devices coming out. Does this mean that soon big red will make it easier for us to buy unlocked phones from other carriers and activate them on Verizon's network? Highly unlikely I expect.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. ericcsong

    ericcsong Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    keep us updated. I'm wondering if its all TBs or just a few
     
  11. iOSh8er

    iOSh8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    See the "poor 3g signal" thread. It seems to have more activity on the subject...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  12. 4xxblessed

    4xxblessed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting because I'm having the same problem, and I'm also in Metro DC area (No. VA). I'll be using the phone over wi-fi in my house, then go outside and have no data service. Usually the box is checked for mobile service, but twice the box has been grayed out not even giving me the option. The only thing that seems to temporarily "fix" it is a doing a reset.

    It's like having to do a Blackberry battery pull all over again!


     
  13. mm81

    mm81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am returning the phone actually and not going with VZW. Overall they have great service, but I still drops calls and data disconnects so back to AT&T... Maybe the VZW/TBolt and disconnect situation will improve over time but I don't want to be locked into a contract.
     
  14. joewilly013

    joewilly013 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Call VZW- I've been troubleshooting the same problem on my TB and they finally decided to set up a trouble ticket to have a field service tech inspect the network in my area (West Phoenix). I was told 4G issues are elevated to highest priority and typically get a 24-48 be turnaround.

    I've already tried a new SIM card and that hasn't helped. I would suggest trying other locations in your city- for me, I get solid 4G in some areas.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
android losing connection during call
,
call drops when no data
,
droid incredible drops 3g and calls
,

htc thunderbolt dropped calls

,
htc thunderbolt dropping calls
,
htc thunderbolt drops calls
,
htc thunderbolt losing 3g signal
,
my verizon thunderbolt keeps disconnecting calls
,
phone loses signal randomly
,
will restoring factory settings on my htc thunderbolt lose a