Looking to start developing

edjm711

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm looking to start making my own live wallpapers and icons. I have years of experience in content creation using CGI creation software and Photoshop, but no experience coding. My question is how much coding experience do I need? Does software exist that takes AVI files, Quicktime, etc, and allows them to be used as live wallpapers? I am willing to learn to code for the platform, but to get started I'd like to get my practice in and post my practice up for free for all to enjoy. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!!!

timlab1955

Reaction score
Learning How TO Develop

I'm a noivce programmer in VB and would like to learn how to develop apps for my samsung vibrant and others. But I have no clue where to start or what I need to download to my computer to develop. Can someone help me start off? Thanks.

Smultron

Reaction score
I just got acces to Beta of the new ''App inventor'' its easy to learn and very nice to handle i recomend it strong!

CoolBreeze

Reaction score
You will need an IDE, most people use Eclipse and you'll also need the Android SDK, as well as Java SE SDK. You can ease the setup a little by using Motorola's MotoDev Studio, which is based off of Eclipse and pretty much includes everything you need to get started. You'll then want to hit the Android SDK documentation and I'd suggest getting a book to use in conjunction like Beginning Android 2.

Reaction score
I too would like to start developing, or at least I would like to attempt/play-around-with developing apps. My questions...

1.) Is there a basic set of tools needed?
2.) Would it cost me anything to get started?
3.) I have basically no programing or software developmental skills, but I learn very fast and have no problems reading through large bits of text to learn what I need to know. Is this enough or should I not even bother?

:( ...I think I can.

Reaction score