Looking To Spice Up Your Droid X?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Shadez, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69

    As much as I don't want to do this it is a must

    WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE THAT MAY OCCUR IF YOU INSTALL THIS HACK

    Do you love your Android device as much as we do? Do you wish you could customize it a little to refelect your likes and desires? Well now you can. MyDroiedWorld and Androiddoes member Natemz has created a custom boot animation for your Droid X. It is currently available in only two colors at the moment, Green and Black but Natemz claims there will be more to come. Now remember you must be ROOTED to do this. and the easiest way is to rename the file to bootanimation.zip and replace the existing using file manager. Lets give a big thanks to Natemz for this beauty and hit the links for your color of choice.


    Looking To Spice Up Your Droid X? - Android Does
  2. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4
    Very nice!
  3. Skeemask
    Offline

    Skeemask Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portsmouth, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't been very active in the forums here, but I've been lurking since I got my X. I went ahead and Gimped this one to blue for myself and figured for my first post, I would share out to anyone else who wants it. Thanks Shadez for sharing and Natemz for making it.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  4. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    That looks sweet!
  5. wdprice3
    Offline

    wdprice3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    let me n00b it up in here and ask how where and how to install this...?

    I'm rooted...
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2010
  6. Skeemask
    Offline

    Skeemask Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portsmouth, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easiest way IMHO is to use Root Explorer to copy and paste it into data/local folder.
  7. wdprice3
    Offline

    wdprice3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    that's it... and it just reads the file?

    and my file explorer can't seem to open my data directory...
  8. Skeemask
    Offline

    Skeemask Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portsmouth, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's it. The phone just reads the zip file. And what file explorer are you using?

    I personally use SU File Manager & Terminal (my debit card doesn't allow transactions not in US dollars :angry:)
  9. suzook
    Offline

    suzook Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isnt it the /system/media folder?
  10. wdprice3
    Offline

    wdprice3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    yes it is. thanks for the help guys. the issue was that my file explorer didn't have root access so I downloaded root explorer and I'm good to go!
  11. Skeemask
    Offline

    Skeemask Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portsmouth, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would recommend placing in data/local. That way you don't overwrite anything. To go back, all you need to do is delete the file. Don't delete/overwrite the one in system/media. It's just my opinion, but this way is easier and safer.
  12. wdprice3
    Offline

    wdprice3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just renamed the existing bootanimation in system/media to stockbootanimation, pasted the new one there and everything worked just fine.
  13. vessej
    Offline

    vessej Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is how i did it. it took a battery pull, though. was stuck on the m.
    looks very nice, thanks!
  14. vessej
    Offline

    vessej Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    well....i need to pull the battery in order to get any of them to boot up. my problem is i over-wrote the stock. anyone know where i can get a new copy?
  15. vessej
    Offline

    vessej Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    i also put the file into the media file and it still needed a battery pull..hmmm
Search tags for this page

bootanimation.zip