Looking to re-install Youtube App.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Dr01d, Mar 25, 2010.

1. Dr01d

Dr01d New Member

Hello,

I'm very new to all this but having a blast.

I recently followed Matth3w's guide to rooting and installed Adamz's Smoked Glass.

During the installation process of his rom you are given the choice to uninstall some of the default apps. One of which is the Youtube app. Now I'm pretty sure I did NOT deliberately uninstall this app but it's definately gone now. Looking through his thread it appears that 3 other people have run into this. Maybe we all accidentally deleted it, I don't know. It's possible.

I'd like to get it back regardless. :)

I have found that it's in a folder named backup on my SDcard but I can't figure out how to get it working again. I've copied it to the system/app folder and tried to install it with Root Explorer but it says "Install Failed". Also tried changing the permisions on the file but no idea what I'm doing there. Just copied the settings the other apps have.

I also can't play Youtube videos in an browser I have. This might be normal though, idk, I never tried before now.

Can anyone help me get my Youtube app back?

If I have to reflash the rom I will but it's a last resort for me. I just got everything set up the way I want.

Beautiful looking rom though!

Thanks for the help! :)
  2. christim

christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

Can you just open it, from your card, with Astro and use the installer?
  3. titans

titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

What he said..if not you can push it through ADB...and why not reflash? It doesn't wipe any of your data or mess up your home screens.
  4. Dr01d

Dr01d New Member

Ok, thank you guys. Ill go ahead and just re-flash I think.

I know how ignorant I sound not knowing simple stuff, like how re-flashing won't erase my settings and apps etc. I am a bit embarrassed about it, but I'm learning a ton!